GFCI Receptacles - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-08-2008, 12:37 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 42
Rewards Points: 25
Default

GFCI Receptacles


I know it might be a little redundant, but is there any harm in replacing all the outlets in a 69 yr old home with GFCI Receptacles? I know it's not needed but I was just curious about what problems that could cause if any. Also, If I were just to install one does it need to be put in a specific place, and is one really safe enough?

Advertisement

dankreboot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2008, 02:38 PM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,349
Rewards Points: 3,492
Blog Entries: 4
Default

GFCI Receptacles


If there is no ground available the GFCI must be used unless you rewire.
There is no harm in installing GFCIs everywhere.
If you want to install oneGFCI to protect the entire circuit it must be installed as the first receptacle inthe line.

Advertisement

joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2008, 03:56 PM   #3
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 500
Default

GFCI Receptacles


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
If there is no ground available the GFCI must be used unless you rewire.
There is no harm in installing GFCIs everywhere.
If you want to install oneGFCI to protect the entire circuit it must be installed as the first receptacle inthe line.
The first sentence is not true. The receptacles can be left alone, or replaced with new 2 prong receptacles.

There is no reason other then expense, to prevent you from replacing every receptacle outlet with a GFCI receptacle. But, installing a GFCI receptacle at the first receptacle outlet in a circuit, and then connecting the downstream receptacles to the load terminals of that GFCI receptacle, will protect those downstream receptacles, and permit you to install 3 prong receptacles in place of the two prong outlets on that circuit. Be sure to install the included stickers which say "no equipment ground available, GFCI protected."
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2008, 07:24 PM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,349
Rewards Points: 3,492
Blog Entries: 4
Default

GFCI Receptacles


You are correct about using two prong or leaving alone. I neglected to mention the two prong option since the main reason most people want to replace these receptacles is get three prong receptacles.

Last edited by joed; 04-09-2008 at 08:20 AM.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2008, 08:48 PM   #5
electrician
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 326
Rewards Points: 250
Default

GFCI Receptacles


Quote:
Originally Posted by jrclen View Post
Be sure to install the included stickers which say "no equipment ground available, GFCI protected."

Yeah Right! Do people actually let you stick those ugly things on their cover plates
Silk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2008, 11:28 PM   #6
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,216
Rewards Points: 2,402
Default

GFCI Receptacles


Why would you want to put it on the cover plate?
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2008, 07:30 AM   #7
electrician
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 326
Rewards Points: 250
Default

GFCI Receptacles


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
Why would you want to put it on the cover plate?

Where would you put it?
Silk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2008, 11:53 AM   #8
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 500
Default

GFCI Receptacles


Quote:
Originally Posted by Silk View Post
Yeah Right! Do people actually let you stick those ugly things on their cover plates
I do. It's required by code.

Advertisement

jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Freezer tripping GFCI davidclements Appliances 57 08-13-2014 09:14 PM
Wiring in New Addition? sandyman720 Electrical 6 11-27-2011 04:34 PM
20 Amp Breaker tripping with GFCI panhandlion Electrical 7 12-12-2007 09:59 PM
GFCI questions 5circles Electrical 4 11-05-2007 09:24 PM
gfci receptacles rjr Electrical 2 05-02-2007 08:16 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts