Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-01-2010, 11:17 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ohio
Posts: 22
Rewards Points: 10
Default

GFCI receptacle on GFCI circuit breaker


This seems obvious, but I thought I'd ask. Our lav has a GFCI receptacle that includes a switch for the shower fan, but the entire circuit is on a 15a GFCI breaker. Is this redundant, and would it be kosher to just use a combo switch/receptacle and mark it "GFCI Protected" instead? I'd like to use the combo GFCI on another circuit, and avoid paying for one I might not need.

Thanks!

thewoodguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 11:23 PM   #2
Electrical Supplier
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 205
Rewards Points: 150
Default

GFCI receptacle on GFCI circuit breaker


I dont see why not.

LyonsElecSupply is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2010, 10:05 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Springfield OH
Posts: 768
Rewards Points: 500
Default

GFCI receptacle on GFCI circuit breaker


I understand, even, that GFI devices on top of GFI devices to be counter-productive (they cease to operate properly when you install a GFCI device on a circuit that is already so protected.) One per circuit is sufficient.
oberkc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2010, 02:37 PM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,147
Rewards Points: 3,088
Blog Entries: 4
Default

GFCI receptacle on GFCI circuit breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by oberkc View Post
I understand, even, that GFI devices on top of GFI devices to be counter-productive (they cease to operate properly when you install a GFCI device on a circuit that is already so protected.) One per circuit is sufficient.

FALSE. They operate just fine. You just never know which one will trip for the fault or maybe they all will if wired to each others LOAD side.

One per circuit is sufficient.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gfci switch/outlet


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Fluorescent Ballast trips GFCI Breaker?? marc515 Electrical 7 02-18-2010 05:42 PM
New circuit breaker owen22 Electrical 14 01-12-2010 08:08 PM
Heat pump circuit breaker pbms pinkertonpv HVAC 11 02-18-2009 10:47 AM
Old Electric Panel/ Circuit Breaker Box dankreboot Electrical 3 12-16-2008 01:52 PM
Kitchen outlet breaker simma Electrical 3 02-28-2007 06:50 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.