Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-13-2008, 02:35 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

GFCI Question


I am converting a small, 2nd floor bedroom in my 1921 home into a home office. Because we had some minor water damage, I have removed the majority of the ceiling and found that the room has knob and tube wiring. Most of the house has upgraded wiring, but knew there were portinos that still had knob and tube wiring hooked up.

My question is whether I need to replace that wiring in order to be able to use 3-prong outlets or if I can simply replace the recepticals with GFCI. We will have several pieces of computer equipment in the room and probably a small LCD television.

Is this safe, or will I need to run new wiring into the room.

Thanks for the help.

Nealndar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2008, 04:53 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Default

GFCI Question


For modern office equipment you really should consider replacing that k+t wiring with some new stuff.

While it can be Code complaint to use a GFCI device on ungrounded circuits, most of your surge suppressors will need a real equipment grounding conductor to properly operate.

The use of a GFCI is for protection of personnel (humans), it does little for protection of your expensive equipment.

kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2008, 05:15 PM   #3
Capra aegagrus
 
Tinstaafl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Central Pennsylvania
Posts: 22
Default

GFCI Question


I'd say it's a no-brainer, since you already have the area opened up. Granted, you'd have to open even more to track all the wiring down, but when has one of these projects ever gone according to plan? K&T is usually ok if undisturbed, but keep in mind also that those circuits were installed for the needs of another era.

We use much more electricity in any given room of the house these days.
Tinstaafl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
3-prong outlet, gfci, old wiring


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Freezer tripping GFCI davidclements Appliances 57 08-13-2014 08:14 PM
GFCI Question dankreboot Electrical 5 08-06-2008 08:33 PM
GFCI in detached garage question WShawn Electrical 2 08-02-2008 03:27 PM
GFCI Question Mdbuilder Electrical 6 06-19-2008 03:15 PM
Hot Tub GFCI Grounding Question kearnak1420 Electrical 3 04-30-2008 05:48 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.