GFCI Problems - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-05-2007, 12:07 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

GFCI Problems


I appreciate the help I gleaned from this forum re: 3-way lighting circuits. They work fine thank you.
Now; I wired my new workshop (detached garage) using 2 multi wire branch circuits,with a shared neutral, only to find that I couldn't use normal gfci receptacles. I learned that here, too! The thread stated that the solution was gfci circuit breakers so I purchased gfci cicuit breakers, used my little neon testor and rejoiced. It worked. Then I plugged in a power drill and tripped the breaker immediately. I have two such circuits and both react the same way. Is there a quick solution; I called for inspection before finding the fault!

Advertisement

deadeyeusa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 01:14 AM   #2
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

GFCI Problems


What kind of GFCI breaker you used on the multi wire circuit and also majorty of GFCI breakers dont work with multiwire circuits at all.

how did you wired the repectales ?? you split it at the first one or what ??

let me know what breaker brand it is maybe there is a slouation to this

Merci, Marc

Advertisement

frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 07:05 AM   #3
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,546
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

GFCI Problems


The only GFCI breaker that will work in your case is a double pole breaker. If you are trying to use two single poles, it will never work.

You could use the GFCI receptacles, you just have to run separate neutrals after the first GFCI receptacle or junction box.
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 08:49 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

GFCI Problems


I used double pole gfci breakers as advised. The receptacles are wired alternately. First duplex oulet, red wire; second outlet black wire with the shared neutral. The breakers are pinned for dual trip.
deadeyeusa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 09:04 AM   #5
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,546
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

GFCI Problems


Can you describe exactly how you wired the breaker (it should be just one)? The red and black should land on the hot screws of the breaker, the shared white should land on the neutral screw of the breaker, and the breaker pigtail should connect to the neutral bar of the panel.
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 09:24 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

GFCI Problems


It's a single breaker, double pole, wired as you stated, except when I put the shared neutral on the breaker terminal, the breaker trips instantly, without a load. When I leave the pigtail only, it trips under load. My plug in neon testor is not enough load to trip, that's why I thought everything was good!
deadeyeusa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 02:00 PM   #7
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,258
Rewards Points: 2,486
Default

GFCI Problems


Deadeye

If your using a 120/240 volt double pole breaker you will be able to operate a multiwire shared neutral circuit. Obviously you have a problem somewhere in the way you wired this up, since both multiwires have the same problem. If the pigtail is connected to the neutral bar and the breaker is "on" when you touch the shared neutral to the breakers neutral lug terminal and you have no loads operating you have current flowing in that shared neutral or it would not trip. It sounds to me like you have wired a short circuit to the neutral somewhere and the gfci is tripping on overcurrent when you complete the circuit.

Last edited by Stubbie; 12-05-2007 at 02:06 PM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 04:07 PM   #8
Electrician philosopher
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 838
Rewards Points: 500
Default

GFCI Problems


Stubbie is correct. It seems that the breaker is doing its job.

Andy
Andy in ATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 05:17 PM   #9
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,159
Rewards Points: 534
Default

GFCI Problems


So whats the reason you are useing GFI? Just curious why your not going the easy route to fix this.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 05:33 PM   #10
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,258
Rewards Points: 2,486
Default

GFCI Problems


The receptacles are in a garage .aka. workshop.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 05:48 PM   #11
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,546
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

GFCI Problems


Quote:
Originally Posted by darren View Post
So whats the reason you are useing GFI? Just curious why your not going the easy route to fix this.
And what would that "easy route" be?
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 09:34 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

GFCI Problems


Hi
Sorry for the delayed response; I was busy all day hunting gremlins! And I found them. One circuit was a solderless ground lug that apparently nicked a hot when I pushed the whole mess together. The other was a loose wire nut, allowing the hot to migrate to the bare ground.
Thanks for all the help, this site is great
I'm still curious. What's the easier way?

Ken
deadeyeusa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2007, 12:37 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Anywhere, USA
Posts: 90
Rewards Points: 75
Default

GFCI Problems


Would a regular double-pole breaker be code compliant if run directly to a gfi in the garage? I think thats what Darren was talking about with the easy method, although I do agree the gfi breaker is the safest way to go.
Rich
RichyL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2007, 01:36 AM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

GFCI Problems


RichyL:

I tried the circuits with one gfci receptacle for each leg. That did not work and was confirmed on this forum through a search for help. I also found out that multiple gfci were not the answer! I think I tried every option before seeking advice here! I know gfci are the safest, but for awhile I doubted the need for them! Thanks to this group I am ready for inspection tomorrow.
deadeyeusa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2007, 07:28 AM   #15
waiting for spring
 
arichard21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Northern NY
Posts: 171
Rewards Points: 150
Default

GFCI Problems


i was in lowes last night and just for the hell of it was looking for the dbl pole gfci breakers and didnt see any? are they pretty common where they should be avalible there?

Advertisement

arichard21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Freezer tripping GFCI davidclements Appliances 57 08-13-2014 09:14 PM
New GFCI Breaker Tripping w/ 3-way Flourescents BigJimmy Electrical 8 12-29-2008 03:29 PM
GFCI questions 5circles Electrical 4 11-05-2007 09:24 PM
GFCI and Smoke alarm circuit issues 00u6166 Electrical 9 10-30-2007 03:41 PM
GFCI breaker problems bwoo Electrical 5 12-09-2006 03:53 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts