Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-10-2009, 08:41 PM   #1
Member
 
RustyRealtor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 88
Rewards Points: 75
Default

GFCI Problem in Kitchen


Hello,

I am trying to replace the old outlets in my kitchen with gfci outlets. There are four outlets on two different circuits. Two of the outlets have a light switch in the same box. When I took out the outlets which are next to the light switches, I saw that the outlets have one hot wire and two neutral wires attached to them. I can get one gfi to work by attaching the neutrals to the gfi terminals, but when I try to attach the downstream outlet I have issues and neither of the outlets wants to work properly.

Can anyone tell me how to wire the outlets properly?

Many Thanks,
Russell

RustyRealtor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2009, 09:40 PM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,867
Rewards Points: 2,038
Default

GFCI Problem in Kitchen


Are you connecting the hot and neutral of the same (and proper) cable to the LOAD terminals?

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 03:59 AM   #3
Member
 
RustyRealtor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 88
Rewards Points: 75
Default

GFCI Problem in Kitchen


Thanks for the reply. I think I am connecting the proper hot and neutral to the LOAD terminals. There is only one hot and only one of the neutral wires causes my tester to light up.

Russell
RustyRealtor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 12:36 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Far Southern Illinois
Posts: 47
Rewards Points: 25
Default

GFCI Problem in Kitchen


If there was only one hot wire to the receptacle, it's not feeding anything downstream.

The second neutral was probably for the lighting load, just using the terminal on the outlet to avoid a wirenut & pigtail, so most likely it should be connected to the 'line' neutral terminal on the GFCI as well.

If you don't have a hot and a neutral to feed the other outlet, the 'load' terminals of the GFCI would not be used.
KeithM62948 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gfci Circuit howard.wheaton Electrical 10 01-29-2009 05:14 PM
GFCI Question Mdbuilder Electrical 6 06-19-2008 03:15 PM
Brewers, Electricians, lend me your ear! GFCI problem aekdbbop Electrical 5 06-16-2008 04:14 PM
Stymied by window leakage problem. Matth3w General DIY Discussions 5 06-11-2008 06:26 PM
GFCI problem Unregistered Electrical 3 02-08-2004 09:41 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.