Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-30-2014, 06:21 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

Gfci problem..


I have a gfci in the laundry room. Everything was fine this morning, but this afternoon I went into laundry room and fluorescent light doesn't work. I push reset button on gfci and doesn't work. I go to main panel and find the breaker for the laundry/gfci circuit. Breaker is tripped. I reset breaker in panel and go back to the laundry room. Gfci will now reset. When I try turning on the light, the light flashes on and immediately goes off. Gfci will not reset. I go back to panel and breaker is tripped again.

What does this mean. Does this mean that I need to replace the gfci or is something else wrong?

Thanks

Post Extras:

Albertc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2014, 06:28 PM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,536
Default

Gfci problem..


Change the the ballast or the whole fluorescent fixture. It sounds like the ballast has gone bad.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2014, 06:34 PM   #3
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,113
Default

Gfci problem..


The light is the culprit. If it is plugged into the outlet, unplug it and remove, until you can get a new fixture to replace that one.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2014, 06:50 PM   #4
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,236
Default

Gfci problem..


The new version of GFCI's will not reset unless they have power to them.

Like the others said...bad light.
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2014, 06:56 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 4
Default

Gfci problem..


More info. I actually have 3 floresent lights and one receptical on this 15 amp breaker. Two of the lights are on one switch an one light is on another switch.
The problem happens no matter which switch I turn on and I just tried plugging a lamp in the receptical after having reset the breaker and the gfci and when I turn the lam on, same thing light comes on for a split second and then goes off.

Thanks for any additional info.
Albertc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2014, 07:24 PM   #6
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,236
Default

Gfci problem..


A perfect example of why lights and outlets should not be on the same ckt.....
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2014, 07:37 PM   #7
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,113
Default

Gfci problem..


Quote:
Originally Posted by Albertc View Post
More info. I actually have 3 fluorescent lights and one receptical on this 15 amp breaker. Two of the lights are on one switch an one light is on another switch.
The problem happens no matter which switch I turn on and I just tried plugging a lamp in the receptical after having reset the breaker and the gfci and when I turn the lam on, same thing light comes on for a split second and then goes off.

Thanks for any additional info.
Why. We have already told you the problem. Quit testing and remove the light from the circuit. It should not have been on a GFCI to begin with.

Who ever did the work, probably did not know that. Is this place your home, or a rental that you live in? If you own. Was this a flip?
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2014, 07:39 PM   #8
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,113
Default

Gfci problem..


Quote:
Originally Posted by ddawg16 View Post
The new version of GFCI's will not reset unless they have power to them.

Like the others said...bad light.
Tell me about it. When I had the power off to the Kitchen, while doing some work on the electrical for the remodel. The wife kept asking why she could not reset the GFCI outlet on one of the branch circuits.

This was after I told her that I was turning power off to that area.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2014, 07:42 PM   #9
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,236
Default

Gfci problem..


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Tell me about it. When I had the power off to the Kitchen, while doing some work on the electrical for the remodel. The wife kept asking why she could not reset the GFCI outlet on one of the branch circuits.

This was after I told her that I was turning power off to that area.
Let me guess....she thought they were 'wireless' outlets?
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ddawg16 For This Useful Post:
curtd (03-31-2014), gregzoll (03-30-2014)
Old 03-30-2014, 07:43 PM   #10
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,113
Default

Gfci problem..


Quote:
Originally Posted by ddawg16 View Post
A perfect example of why lights and outlets should not be on the same ckt.....
Tell me about it. Our house had originally four circuits. If you cut the house in four parts, that was how it was set up. They had lights in the basement at each junction box.

You find out real quick when you start splitting old circuits apart, with pulling new wire, how many circuit breakers you really need.

My next door neighbor's garage is set up that way. Incoming from the fuse panel to a GFCI, which feeds all outlets & lights. Best thing about this, is that it is NM feeding the garage, with a splice taped just past her walkway.

I think that the same person that did my run to our garage when we moved in. Did both neighbors on both sides of us.

I hate that our city does not inspect homes for improper wiring. But then again those of us that do know how to do this work. Really would like to find them and slap the idiots around.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2014, 08:02 PM   #11
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,086
Default

Gfci problem..


Quote:
Originally Posted by ddawg16 View Post
A perfect example of why lights and outlets should not be on the same ckt.....
That's just ignorant to even say.
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2014, 08:25 PM   #12
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,113
Default

Gfci problem..


Quote:
Originally Posted by ddawg16 View Post
Let me guess....she thought they were 'wireless' outlets?
They are when they were sitting in the bucket, that I was using to put parts in, while I was working in the Kitchen.

It is amazing how this new technology works.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2014, 08:50 PM   #13
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,536
Default

Gfci problem..


Is the breaker a GFCI breaker?
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2014, 09:36 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 4
Default

Gfci problem..


No it's not a gfci breaker.
Albertc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2014, 10:03 PM   #15
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,236
Default

Gfci problem..


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375
That's just ignorant to even say.
And the reason why is?

__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ddawg16 For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (03-30-2014)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 Similar GFCI, but one tests open ground crescere Electrical 40 08-28-2012 09:19 PM
GFCI wiring for a jetted bathtub couchpotato Electrical 13 03-20-2012 11:26 AM
GFCI problem Captflx Electrical 3 02-27-2011 05:21 PM
GFCI problem Unregistered Electrical 3 02-08-2004 09:41 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.