Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-18-2009, 01:55 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

GFCI Power Strip


I recently purchased a power strip with a GFCI plug in (the test reset buttons on the plug), for use with my fish aquarium. Only problem is that I live in an older house with two prong outlets. So I did what I do with all my electronics, I just snapped the third plug off. But now I'm not sure if that was such a good idea. Will the GFCI unit still work without the third plug? I'm assuming so because none of the equipment I plug into the power strip has a third plug, so any stray voltage wouldn't be picked up through the ground wire anyways... right? I have to have some kind of safety net here, saltwater is extremely conductive, and the tank is loaded with electrical devices, some are even submersible. If any of the insulation were to fail and the GFCI didn't work I'm guessing I would probably have a fire on my hands. You're advice is greatly appreciated.
Barsness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2009, 04:54 AM   #2
Member
 
dSilanskas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Posts: 474
Default

GFCI Power Strip


Your fine. I admit it wasn't smart cutting off the ground prong but its alright. The GFCI doesn't only work on its ground. It works from phase to phase. So hot to neutral . That is why if you have an older home with two prong outlets and no ground present you can only replace that outlet with either another two prong outlet or a GFCI outlet
dSilanskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2009, 06:55 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

GFCI Power Strip


A better option is to install a GFCI outlet in the wall & label
"No ground present"

Also make sure that the strip isn't near the tank
Any cords leading to the tank should have a drip loop so water wil not enter the power strip

Keep an eye out for sale creep
Un-used plugs slots should be covered w/child proof cap to prevent corrosion

There was one picture on a forum where the power strip caught fure -GFCI protected
The GFCI never kicked off
The fire was starting to get bad, but was put out when the acrylic aquarium was melted (no joke)

I have a 165g setup - have fun
I use multiple GFCI circuits for my equipment
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2009, 11:55 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,502
Default

GFCI Power Strip


Quote:
Originally Posted by Barsness View Post
Only problem is that I live in an older house with two prong outlets. So I did what I do with all my electronics, I just snapped the third plug off. But now I'm not sure if that was such a good idea.
That is the second most stupid thing I have read on this forum this week. How could you destroy the cords on your electronic equipment. You could have used adapters and GFCI's. But to permanently ruin a perfectly good and grounded plug and cord? If you ever move or update your electrical system you're screwed. Because now your equipment has no ground.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2009, 01:53 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2
Default

GFCI Power Strip


Thanks for the info, it is appreciated. Oh, and I also "appreciate" the level of concern some of you have for my electronics, even if you feel the need to insult me in the process (I was well aware when I removed the ground plug that it wouldn't be coming back).
Barsness is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gfci, power strip


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Hows and Whys of Furring Strips. Part-1 Willie T How To Guides 12 03-01-2013 02:58 PM
GFCI for the Lamp Post (GFCI for circuit that is fed Power from light) jamiedolan Electrical 7 02-25-2009 10:50 PM
Overloaded Power Strip? Please help. ljs231 Electrical 11 02-22-2009 01:37 PM
GFCI Power Usage Gigs Electrical 21 01-11-2009 08:14 PM
GFCI Question Mdbuilder Electrical 6 06-19-2008 03:15 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.