Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-08-2011, 10:24 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Question

GFCI Panel Conduit Question


Quick question here. I'm getting ready to run conduit for a spa. I have a Cutler Hammer 60a spa disconnect panel already mounted and I plan to run 1 inch PVC conduit with four #6 THHN conductors inside. I need to use the large knockout in the bottom of the panel to accomodate the 1 inch conduit. Since the knockout is centered in the box, the conduit would exit the box but be an inch or so away from the foundation wall as it travels straight down underground (see attached photo). Is this acceptable or do I need to use some type of fitting to guide the conduit closer to the wall so that it could be clamped? If that is the case, what type of fitting could I use? Is there anything in the NEC that dictates whether the conduit must be secured as it emerges from the ground and enters a panel?

Thanks in advance!
Attached Images
 

passmaster16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2011, 10:28 PM   #2
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,681
Rewards Points: 1,002
Default

GFCI Panel Conduit Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by passmaster16 View Post
Quick question here. I'm getting ready to run conduit for a spa. I have a Cutler Hammer 60a spa disconnect panel already mounted and I plan to run 1 inch PVC conduit with four #6 THHN conductors inside. I need to use the large knockout in the bottom of the panel to accomodate the 1 inch conduit. Since the knockout is centered in the box, the conduit would exit the box but be an inch or so away from the foundation wall as it travels straight down underground (see attached photo). Is this acceptable or do I need to use some type of fitting to guide the conduit closer to the wall so that it could be clamped? If that is the case, what type of fitting could I use? Is there anything in the NEC that dictates whether the conduit must be secured as it emerges from the ground and enters a panel?

Thanks in advance!
Acceptable.

electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sub panel clearance question Red Squirrel Electrical 2 05-09-2011 09:53 PM
Wiring a Spa and THHN question. skleinsmith Electrical 29 04-02-2010 11:41 AM
wiring new GFCI breaker question dgates12 Electrical 8 01-07-2010 12:14 PM
easy question - PVC conduit connection to main panel tpagel Electrical 14 07-17-2009 06:50 PM
GFCI question: can line and load wires be run inside the same conduit? thegonagle Electrical 32 04-16-2009 06:07 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.