Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-06-2009, 08:09 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 92
Share |
Default

GFCI outlets question


I have an existing GFCI outlet in our bathroom. It is supplied from a dedicated breaker.

Can I connect another GFCI to the feed line for our 2nd bathroom?
bigcaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 08:16 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

GFCI outlets question


You can either connect another GFCI to the LINE side
or you can connect a regular outlet to the LOAD side of the existing GFCI
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 08:18 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 92
Default

GFCI outlets question


cool, thanks.

Makes it easier for me.
bigcaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 08:31 AM   #4
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Post

GFCI outlets question


This site might help http://www.ask-the-electrician.com/G...gh-Method.html also a pic the pic shows no ground wire but if you have a ground HOOK II UP!!!
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 07:17 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 192
Default

GFCI outlets question


hooking it up so it functions is different than meeting code. I believe each bathroom needs it's own dedicated circuit, but you should check out the NEC. (disclaimer...just a homeowner guy, not a pro)
steve1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 07:31 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

GFCI outlets question


A GFCI protected circuit can supply everything in a bathroom - outlets & lights

OR

It can supply Outlets ONLY in multiple bathrooms

You can connect GFCI's without a ground
It must then be labeled as "NO ground present"
These stickers actually come with the GFCI
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 07:34 PM   #7
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Post

GFCI outlets question


Quote:
Originally Posted by steve1234 View Post
hooking it up so it functions is different than meeting code. I believe each bathroom needs it's own dedicated circuit, but you should check out the NEC. (disclaimer...just a homeowner guy, not a pro)
I think you are wrong can you show me the code?
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2009, 12:03 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 192
Default

GFCI outlets question


Nope. I am most probably wrong. I rewired my house and had my residential pocket NEC book. My previous post was going off memory and I should not have posted such an "opinion".....my bad.
steve1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2009, 12:10 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

GFCI outlets question


I do prefer a dedicated circuit to each bathroom
It just makes sense with the power draw of hair dryers
NEC is the Min requirement, going above in this case is a great idea
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2009, 12:15 PM   #10
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Post

GFCI outlets question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
I do prefer a dedicated circuit to each bathroom
It just makes sense with the power draw of hair dryers
NEC is the Min requirement, going above in this case is a great idea
I do agree with you if it was my house i would put each gfci in bath on own circuit. Here we put the main GFCI in master bath and load side in guest bath
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2009, 12:21 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 192
Default

GFCI outlets question


agreed. I remember the discussion with my inspector and we were joking about our wives with the hair dryers, straightening hot things, and other stuff that all gets plugged in. (To all the wives out there don't take this as a bad thing, it's all good and just the way it is) I had two bathrooms and each one got it's own circuit. That's why I made the comment I did. However I should not have suggested it was "code" without verifying.
steve1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2009, 01:09 PM   #12
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Default

GFCI outlets question


Quote:
Originally Posted by steve1234 View Post
However I should not have suggested it was "code" without verifying.
Quit apoligizing, there was nothing wrong with your other post, you merely said it may be code and to check the NEC.
You wrote "I believe each bathroom needs it's own dedicated circuit, but you should check out the NEC." Nothing said it was code, you just said it may be.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2009, 01:22 PM   #13
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Default

GFCI outlets question


Quote:
Originally Posted by steve1234 View Post
However I should not have suggested it was "code" without verifying.
I have been guilty of saying the wrong things to but there are great people here that will correct us. We are not perfect
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GFCI switch to control outside outlets billgeo Electrical 14 09-08-2008 11:09 PM
GFCI Question dankreboot Electrical 5 08-06-2008 08:33 PM
GFCI in detached garage question WShawn Electrical 2 08-02-2008 03:27 PM
Question about wiring outlets together firemanpato Electrical 5 01-05-2008 03:52 PM
Wiring Design Considerations Question tjandt Electrical 6 09-26-2006 05:44 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.