Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-26-2007, 04:46 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Chesterfield, Michigan
Posts: 10
Share |
Question

gfci outlets not working


I live in a manufactured home and my GFCI outlets aren't working. I've tried reseting all of them but they wont reset. There are 3 different circuit breakers contected to all of the outlets that aren't working and none of them are tripped. The power comes back on eventually when it wants to and will eventually go back out. I have one GFCI outlet that is working and that is the outside outlet. Please, any help will be appreciated.

Last edited by mtkelley; 08-26-2007 at 05:08 PM.
mtkelley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2007, 04:55 PM   #2
Long-Time DIYer
 
Mike Swearingen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: On Albemarle Sound In Northeastern NC
Posts: 1,460
Default

gfci outlets not working


I am NOT an electrician, just an old DIYer. IMHO, you apparently have one with a faulty connection or one that has failed in that circuit.
Turn OFF the breakers to the circuits, and check to see if any of the screw connections are burned, corroded or loose.
If all looks o.k., start exchanging the gfci receptacles for new ones. There should not be more than one gfci on a circuit, and it should be the first one, so that all past it in that same circuit would also be gfci protected.
That's just my 2 cents.
Good Luck!
Mike
Mike Swearingen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2007, 05:13 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Chesterfield, Michigan
Posts: 10
Default

gfci outlets not working


I've taken the panel off of the circuit box and everything is tight and clean.
mtkelley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2007, 05:25 PM   #4
Master Electrician
 
JohnJ0906's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 332
Default

gfci outlets not working


Have you checked each GFCI receptacle? Or are these GFCI Breakers?

Check ALL connections on the circuit. (Deenergized, of course)

How old are the GFCIs? More than 10-15 years, you may need to replace them.
__________________
John from Baltimore
One Day at a Time
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

"Experience is what you get when you were expecting something else"
"The bitterness of low quality lingers long after the sweetness of low cost is forgotten"
JohnJ0906 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2007, 05:30 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Chesterfield, Michigan
Posts: 10
Default

gfci outlets not working


the home is 5 years old. they are receptacles and they will not reset
mtkelley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2007, 09:46 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 200
Default

gfci outlets not working


MT,
Are you located in SE Michigan ... if so, which mobile home park...
JGarth
JGarth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2007, 02:16 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Chesterfield, Michigan
Posts: 10
Default

gfci outlets not working


I live in Chesterfield

Last edited by mtkelley; 08-28-2007 at 06:24 PM.
mtkelley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2007, 02:38 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,502
Default

gfci outlets not working


Are you pushing the trip button first?
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2007, 02:45 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 200
Default

gfci outlets not working


Sorry....too far...
I'm way south of you in Grosse Ile....
JGarth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2007, 03:53 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Chesterfield, Michigan
Posts: 10
Default

gfci outlets not working


i've tried to test/reset but it wont let me, none of them. none of the circuits are tripped.
mtkelley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2007, 04:23 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 200
Default

gfci outlets not working


Have you opened up all the receptacle boxes and looked for a "loose" connection. ... on the recptacle itself, or possibly a "wire-nutted" connection.

Do you have anything like a hair dryer, electric tootbrush, etc....plugged into any GFCI receptacle or on downstream of it.
JGarth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2007, 06:31 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Chesterfield, Michigan
Posts: 10
Default

gfci outlets not working


I just checked the outlets that have the test/reset on them and they look fine. No loose wires. I've unpluged everything.
mtkelley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2007, 06:40 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 200
Default

gfci outlets not working


Also.......check the receptacles downstrean of the GFCI...is anything plugged into them..

Next step .... call a contractor...
JGarth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2007, 06:51 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Chesterfield, Michigan
Posts: 10
Default

gfci outlets not working


nothing plugged into any of the protected outlets
mtkelley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2007, 07:09 PM   #15
Custom Cabinet Maker
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Netcong NJ
Posts: 1,097
Default

gfci outlets not working


call electrician Now is a good time before something horrible happens
skymaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kitchen outlet breaker simma Electrical 3 02-28-2007 05:50 PM
Problem W/ Power after Switching Outlets... G19-Fanatic Electrical 17 08-28-2006 01:55 PM
Replacing light killed downstream outlets, totally stuck amissner Electrical 5 07-13-2006 06:02 AM
two GFCI outlets at bath vanity Hickory Electrical 6 12-18-2005 09:31 AM
wiring a gfci outlet in circuit bobo Electrical 12 08-31-2005 08:38 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.