GFCI Outlets In Basement - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-19-2008, 09:53 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 729
Rewards Points: 500
Default

GFCI Outlets in Basement


Hi everyone, are GFCI outlets required in basements, besides bathroom and laundry room? I am making a playroom for the kids and was wondering if the outlets have to be GFCI on the walls? Thanks.

Advertisement

helpless handyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2008, 10:09 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

GFCI Outlets in Basement


If the space is considered finished, it does not require gfci's.

If you are worried that they may play with the outlets, the the cost is minaml to protect it with gfci.

Advertisement

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2008, 10:14 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 729
Rewards Points: 500
Default

GFCI Outlets in Basement


Thanks, yes space will be finished. I might just put one and feed the rest of the outlets from the GFCI. I will put one on each side, makes any sense?
helpless handyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2008, 10:43 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

GFCI Outlets in Basement


Quote:
Originally Posted by helpless handyman View Post
Thanks, yes space will be finished. I might just put one and feed the rest of the outlets from the GFCI. I will put one on each side, makes any sense?
Yes, if you are installing 2 circuits, otherwise 1 is all you need.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2008, 11:23 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 729
Rewards Points: 500
Default

GFCI Outlets in Basement


Thanks jbfan Yes, I am installing 2 circuits, 7 outlets on each.
helpless handyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Freezer tripping GFCI davidclements Appliances 57 08-13-2014 09:14 PM
Basement Renovation Project Howdy Electrical 6 03-13-2008 12:07 PM
GFCI outlets handy man88 Electrical 16 03-03-2008 05:33 PM
two GFCI outlets at bath vanity Hickory Electrical 6 12-18-2005 10:31 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts