Gfci Outlet Not Working?..help! - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-25-2012, 06:54 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 308
Rewards Points: 312
Default

Gfci outlet not working?..help!


Not to change the subject but is this a over the stove (permanent)microwave by chance?

Advertisement

hidden1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 01:09 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Gfci outlet not working?..help!


Not over a stove. It is a counter model.
Befast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 02:07 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: crimson tide country
Posts: 143
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Gfci outlet not working?..help!


i take it this is a kitchen circuit. have you identified everything that is on this circuit. if not, do so. then make sure no appliances are plugged into the receptacles. even items like a coffee pot that might be turned off yet have a digital clock using power. if you had any appliances plugged in, unplug them and try it again. something in the appliance may be going out and tripping the gfi. i am a simple man but it sounds like something is causing this gfi to trip. it may be why the old one went out too. did you say when the gfi went out other plugs stayed on at 120 volts that are on the same circuit? the gfi normally would be protecting all the plugs in the kitchen. i know the code about length to wet area but seems the whole circuit would be protected. make sure no ground wire is snug up to a hot line anywhere. i once had a gfi tripping constantly and when i moved the ground wire around to the other side of the plug fixed the problem. a good thing to do when you are lost is check everything on the circuit. i have done this, never saw a problem yet when everything was replaced the problem vanished. good luck
buddy builder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 07:27 PM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Smile

Gfci outlet not working?..help!


Thank you. I replaced the outlet directly in front of the gfi outlet. I noticed that the ground wires that were twisted was touching one of the leads even though I had it wrapped with electrical tape. I think the problem is solved!

Advertisement

Befast is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Outdoor outlet not working - need advice amodoko Electrical 10 12-16-2012 01:42 PM
GFCI - White & Black Both HOT? hagler Electrical 11 03-19-2012 09:29 AM
GFCI Breaker & GFCI Outlet together??? abinpa General DIY Discussions 6 04-12-2009 09:59 PM
Replacing outlet to new GFCI - Wall switch Protonix Electrical 13 04-09-2009 09:36 AM
GFCI from basement laundry to outdoor outlet TPS Electrical 11 01-15-2009 01:17 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts