Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-11-2012, 02:12 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

GFCI outlet and breaker question


I have all GFCI outlets in bathrooms and kitchen, however the covers I have for the four outlets that also have separate light switches next to them are not compatible. I would like to put a GFCI breaker on to be able to switch out the four GFCI outlets that offend my covers for regular outlets but still maintain GFCI protection as well as keep the remaining GFCI outlets along the counter that stand alone. We have a Square D panel, can this be done?

danette32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 02:52 PM   #2
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Rewards Points: 0
Default

GFCI outlet and breaker question


Quote:
Originally Posted by danette32
I have all GFCI outlets in bathrooms and kitchen, however the covers I have for the four outlets that also have separate light switches next to them are not compatible. I would like to put a GFCI breaker on to be able to switch out the four GFCI outlets that offend my covers for regular outlets but still maintain GFCI protection as well as keep the remaining GFCI outlets along the counter that stand alone. We have a Square D panel, can this be done?
It could but chances are you can find plates for what ever combination you have. How about uploading a picture and we can find them for you.

__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 03:08 PM   #3
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,550
Rewards Points: 0
Default

GFCI outlet and breaker question


You could do that. It would be much easier to just replace the covers though! Pretty much every possible device combination is available, just some more commonly than others. If you can't find covers with the right device arrangement, then you could install decora switches (the same rectangular opening as the GFCI receptacles) or use decora plates and put decora-to-regular-switch filler plates in them. Like these: http://www.kyledesigns.com/product/3...DECORA-INSERTS
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 03:27 PM   #4
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,911
Rewards Points: 30
Default

GFCI outlet and breaker question


It depends on how each circuit is split up in those rooms,id just figure how the kitchen plugs are fed.
If you have a couple of them in series with each other you could protect both of them off 1 tp gfi,it all depends on how things are wired up.
Last time I looked regular sq-d homeline gfi breakers were in the $40.00 range,If you have a qo panel it will be more.
And if you start talking arc fault gfi breakers,youll really be in for sticker shock.
__________________
"facts" have no relevance to this discusion
Posting from a concrete bunker under a non descript barn
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 04:18 PM   #5
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,168
Rewards Points: 92
Default

GFCI outlet and breaker question


The only time that I would change out from GFCI outlets to breakers, is in the case as my situation with my Kitchen, in that we have a junction box in the joist bay of our basement, feeding a group of outlets that are split right now across two sides of the Kitchen. It was easier doing that, vs. tearing apart the walls.

If you do not like the decora style for the bath & Kitchen, I would say that is your choice. But personally, it works, I would leave it alone. Especially if they wired the circuit as a multi-wire branch circuit in the Kitchen, you will pretty quickly find a problem with changing over to a GFCI breaker on that circuit.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 05:25 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Default

GFCI outlet and breaker question


Thank you everyone for the info and the help! These outlets were installed 3 years ago and I have been searching for alternative covers since then. I bought for the entire house at Van Dykes Restorers out of Mitchell, SD and they do not make the covers I need. I just wanted to make sure that we would not blow the house up. It sounds like if I have a trip some where it may take me going to the basement to flip the breaker as opposed to hitting the reset button on the outlet. Thank you again!!!!

danette32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Landscape wiring question: GFCI and Breaker Amp MikeInDetroit Electrical 0 11-02-2011 09:43 AM
GFCI Breaker & GFCI Outlet together??? abinpa General DIY Discussions 6 04-12-2009 08:59 PM
GFCI Question Mdbuilder Electrical 6 06-19-2008 03:15 PM
GFCI outlet vs. breaker - GF trip speed LanterDan Electrical 2 01-09-2007 06:05 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.