Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-27-2013, 11:45 AM   #1
DIYer
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

GFCI Outlet in Bathroom


Hello all! This is my first post here so here it goes.

I am doing some renovation in the bathroom - new drywall, tiling, fixtures, etc.

The bathroom is very old and has 1 lightswitch that is on the same circuit as the bedroom (says 15 on the panel, assuming 15 amps).

Also has 1 outlet that was not GFCI but I am thinking I should install a GFCI for code/protection, since it is right above the sink. I included a few pictures of the outlet in question here:

http://imgur.com/a/JS7sX

I have changed all of the regular wall outlets in the home that had either 3 or 5 wires, but the ground always seemed to be the copper wire, but in this outlet there is the extra white wire attached to the bottom of the outlet, is that the ground, or something else?

The number on the panel says 20, once again, i'm assuming that means 20 amps. It seems to be on the same circuit as the bathroom adjacent to it and one of the living room outlets downstairs.

I have been doing a lot of research on the forums and it seems like a GFCI is necessary, and a 15 amp GFCI would be okay with a 20 amp circuit. But I just want some of your opinions on what I should do (short of rewiring anything).

Thanks in advance for everything!
diy_vinny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 11:52 AM   #2
Jack of all - master none
 
hyunelan2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SW Suburbs of Chicago
Posts: 1,153
Default

GFCI Outlet in Bathroom


Modern code for a bathroom requires a 20a GFCI outlet. Your lights should be ok sharing the 15a circuit with the bedroom, but the bathroom outlet should have its own 20a circuit - which as you suspected, would require some rewiring.

At the very least, change that outlet to a GFCI that matches the amperage of the circuit. That's the first step to not getting electrocuted. This doesn't bring you up to code, but makes it less dangerous. The wire connecting the metal box to the ground screw is the ground wire, and should be bare-copper or green. The previous owner could have just used a scrap of whatever he had - white.
hyunelan2 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hyunelan2 For This Useful Post:
diy_vinny (02-27-2013)
Old 02-27-2013, 12:11 PM   #3
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,056
Default

GFCI Outlet in Bathroom


A 15 amp GFI receptacle is fine on a 20 amp circuit and is allowed by Code.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
diy_vinny (02-27-2013)
Old 02-27-2013, 12:23 PM   #4
DIYer
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 2
Default

GFCI Outlet in Bathroom


hyunelan2,

so what you are saying is for safety i should:
remove that outlet, and install a 15 amp gfci, such as this one:

http://www.homedepot.com/h_d1/N-5yc1...7#.US5OTDAQPMg

I would just take the two wires and attach them to the line part of the GFCI, ground it using a new copper wire, and leave the load empty?

But for code, I would need to have a professional electrician come and run new circuits from the panel up to the outlet in question (and the other two outlets on the circuit)?

Is this correct?
diy_vinny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 12:40 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: cleveland ohio
Posts: 445
Default

GFCI Outlet in Bathroom


If it was my house, yes I would have an electrician to come and run a new circuit. I am not very knowledgeable about electrical work, so that is why I would want an electrician come and look over the whole job. The way they used a white wire for the ground and back stabbed the other two wires i would put the cover back on and call someone.
paintdrying is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 04:39 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina, USA
Posts: 2,214
Default

GFCI Outlet in Bathroom


It's better to use a 20a outlet on a 20a circuit to be on the safe side.

We can only hope that white wire is the ground wire. I can't see what it says on that connection on the outlet, but it's connected to the metal box, so it darn well better be the ground.

Do you know why metallic cable is used? I can't think of a good reason for that. It is probably acting as the ground, but if they thought of that, they would have just used grounded cable to begin with.
jeffnc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 04:49 PM   #7
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,056
Default

GFCI Outlet in Bathroom


There is no advantage to a 20 amp duplex over a 15 amp on a 20 amp circuit. The difference is the slot configuration. A 15 amp device is still rated for 20 amp feed through.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 03:22 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: cleveland ohio
Posts: 445
Default

GFCI Outlet in Bathroom


Jim, thanks, what does the term duplex refer to in describing receptacles.
paintdrying is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 04:01 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina, USA
Posts: 2,214
Default

GFCI Outlet in Bathroom


It means 2, and pretty easily Googled.
http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/31Q5HZM2DML._SL500_AA300_PIbundle-10,TopRight,0,0_AA300_SH20_.jpg

Last edited by jeffnc; 03-01-2013 at 04:03 PM.
jeffnc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Circuits in Garage and GFCI tedallen Electrical 19 05-24-2012 07:03 PM
30 amp GFCI wall outlet? CZ DIY Electrical 31 05-22-2012 09:03 PM
Adding new GFCI outlet to existing light switch idzrvit Electrical 15 11-20-2011 09:16 PM
Odd voltages at outlet TJF Electrical 12 11-01-2011 09:13 PM
GFCI Outlet installation in bathroom... budde97 Electrical 4 02-11-2007 12:22 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.