GFCI Outlet Add On Question. - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-09-2014, 09:43 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 546
Rewards Points: 558
Default

GFCI outlet add on question.


I need to install an outlet on a large covered porch (12' deep x 24' wide) that was added on, and the only reasonable way to wire it is to tie into a guest bedroom outlet where the outlets would be back to back (walls are all built with 2x6 studs).


Any reason I can't wire out of the bedroom outlet, and install a GFCI outlet on the porch?


The only reason for the outlet is to please the wifey, as she wants to be able to put a Christmas tree on the porch....

Advertisement

ktkelly is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2014, 10:52 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,699
Rewards Points: 2,358
Default

GFCI outlet add on question.


Is the existing circuit able to carry the extra load ?
Is it exposed to the weather or elements ?
If so you have to use the correct enclosure or type.
Otherwise should be ok.
Have you checked code requirements for your area ?

Advertisement

dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2014, 02:15 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 546
Rewards Points: 558
Default

GFCI outlet add on question.


Quote:
Originally Posted by dmxtothemax View Post
Is the existing circuit able to carry the extra load ?
Since there's only a total of 6 outlets on the circuit, with only three that are being used for two table lamps and a TV, I see no issues with the load.

Quote:
Is it exposed to the weather or elements ?
Only if there's a hurricane, and then the power would be off anyway.

[quote]If so you have to use the correct enclosure or type./QUOTE]

I planned on using a outdoor cover.

Quote:
Have you checked code requirements for your area ?
If I follow code, I'll be one of the few on the island that do.
ktkelly is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2014, 09:06 AM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,138
Rewards Points: 502
Default

GFCI outlet add on question.


i see no problems with it ... based on a weather proof GFI and proper cover ...the porch should have had an outlet by code anyway
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2014, 09:25 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 546
Rewards Points: 558
Default

GFCI outlet add on question.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Philly Master View Post
i see no problems with it ... based on a weather proof GFI and proper cover ...the porch should have had an outlet by code anyway

Surprisingly the outlet wasn't required by the local, next to nonexistent, planning department that issues permits, does inspections, etc, etc.


I looked at a lot of other places before buying this one, and the amount of serious code violations I found on most, was absolutely astounding.

On this particular one, all of the ceiling fans were mounted to the trusses with no back boxes. The wiring was simply pushed through a hole in the ceiling and wire nuts used to connect it to some 14-2 romex tied to the feed for the attic vent fan. No junction boxes anywhere and the grounds weren't used at all.


Oh the things I found!
ktkelly is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2014, 09:30 AM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,138
Rewards Points: 502
Default

GFCI outlet add on question.


Quote:
Originally Posted by ktkelly View Post
Surprisingly the outlet wasn't required by the local, next to nonexistent, planning department that issues permits, does inspections, etc, etc.


I looked at a lot of other places before buying this one, and the amount of serious code violations I found on most, was absolutely astounding.

On this particular one, all of the ceiling fans were mounted to the trusses with no back boxes. The wiring was simply pushed through a hole in the ceiling and wire nuts used to connect it to some 14-2 romex tied to the feed for the attic vent fan. No junction boxes anywhere and the grounds weren't used at all.


Oh the things I found!

it is required by NEC code .... if i remember correctly and "deck" 20 sq. ft or more, ...

Advertisement

__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring question: GFCI and light switch diy888 Electrical 11 10-10-2013 09:30 PM
gfci outlet outside? Toller Electrical 1 09-16-2013 06:06 PM
Bizarre GFCI outlet problem gbreton Electrical 13 01-02-2013 09:15 AM
Circuits in Garage and GFCI tedallen Electrical 19 05-24-2012 08:03 PM
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 10:33 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts