Gfci Outlet - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-12-2010, 12:35 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default

gfci outlet


I can not find a gfci breaker for my panel.So instead i am thinking to put a gfci receptacle between the panel and the circuit. I mean one end to the panel and the other end of the cfci(load) the circuit that goes to the 2nd floor.You think it is OK ? thanks

Advertisement

gefeiora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2010, 01:20 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

gfci outlet


What brand is your panel?

Advertisement

__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2010, 06:38 AM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

gfci outlet


That's how most people do it.
Is this for something special, like a bath tub heater/motor?
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2010, 07:20 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default

gfci outlet


the breaker is CEB . Is discontinue, besides would cost over 100 dollars.The reason is : the second floor there is no grounding for lights and outlets in bathroom and the bedrooms, so i think a good idea to do this.So you think it is OK? thanks
gefeiora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2010, 11:48 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Western Maine
Posts: 201
Rewards Points: 150
Default

gfci outlet


... so you get one or more of these:

http://www.google.com/products/catal...d=0CF4Q8wIwCA#

Remember to label all of the receptacles "GFCI-protected" and "No Equipment Ground".
emolatur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2010, 12:13 PM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

gfci outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by emolatur View Post
... so you get one or more of these:

http://www.google.com/products/catal...d=0CF4Q8wIwCA#
WHY bother with that?? Just change the first existing receptacle to a GFI and be done with it.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2010, 07:52 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default

gfci outlet


thanks. It's hard to find the first outlet, that's why i want to make the first one right from the panel. Even put it inside the cabinet where is the panel.So, you think it's OK ?
gefeiora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2010, 07:57 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

gfci outlet


A GFCI will not give you any grounding
If you are running electronics/computer equipment you are better off running a ground
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2010, 10:29 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default

gfci outlet


in the bathroom it's easy. Just a green wire from cold pipe to outlet(permitted in Canada).But for the computer need to run the wire on baseboard and around doors etc.But the other way still protects the person, I guess.!!? I'll try to find the best way to get ground to the computer. Thanks
gefeiora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2010, 06:49 AM   #10
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

gfci outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by gefeiora View Post
in the bathroom it's easy. Just a green wire from cold pipe to outlet(permitted in Canada).
Are you in Canada? Your profile is conspicuously empty.

Also, even if this is allowed, it is NOT a good idea. Why do you think the US removed this allowance many, many years ago??
A cold water pipe IS NOT usually a valid source of an electrical "ground", or "bond" for a more accurate term.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2010, 11:17 AM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default

gfci outlet


Somebody in this forum said it was allowed in canada. Must be, because the panel is ground to the main water tap and the inspector the first thing he was looking for was the ground, so the bathroom pipes are already grounded.Is it unsafe if i connect the ground from the pipe to the outlet ? How they do in States? Put a cooper rod in the ground ?Thanks
gefeiora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2010, 01:36 PM   #12
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

gfci outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by gefeiora View Post
Somebody in this forum said it was allowed in canada. Must be, because the panel is ground to the main water tap and the inspector the first thing he was looking for was the ground, so the bathroom pipes are already grounded.Is it unsafe if i connect the ground from the pipe to the outlet ? How they do in States? Put a cooper rod in the ground ?Thanks
A rod stuck in the ground has absolutely NOTHING to do with the round hole in a receptacle. They are two totally different types of "ground".

In the US it is only acceptable to connect a circuit ground to a water pipe that is beyond 5' of where it enters (not just any old water pipe), and then ONLY if that pipe is correctly used as a grounding electrode. This means that the grounding electrode conductor is what is being used as the equipment ground path back to the panel, NOT the pipe in the earth.

With the widespread use of PVC, CPVC, Pex, etc, there is a very good chance the continuity path of the piping back to the bond point is compromised, or will be compromised.

Advertisement

Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring a GFCI Outdoor Outlet from an Inside Outlet - Parallel or Series? Pacal Electrical 28 11-13-2010 04:36 PM
Help with an exterior GFCI Outlet!!??!! Brad2723 Electrical 1 03-31-2010 10:46 PM
trouble with my gfci outlet derek10790 Electrical 8 03-17-2010 09:54 AM
GFCI Breaker & GFCI Outlet together??? abinpa General DIY Discussions 6 04-12-2009 09:59 PM
Treadmill on GFCI outlet? fw2007 Electrical 13 10-21-2008 02:49 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts