Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-10-2012, 07:50 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

GFCI outdoors


How many GFCI should one have on a Circuity for the outdoors. I always heard that only one was needed and that would be the one closest to the breaker box. Is this true? Or is more then one needed ? Thanks George

geo422 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 07:53 PM   #2
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Rewards Points: 250
Default

GFCI outdoors


It used to be 'no more than 6', but any more they all say as may as you want.
Atleast thats what I was told. If you're planning on larger loads might want more circuits, all depends on what you doing.

Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 08:37 PM   #3
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,895
Rewards Points: 2,046
Default

GFCI outdoors


Quote:
Originally Posted by geo422 View Post
How many GFCI should one have on a Circuity for the outdoors. I always heard that only one was needed and that would be the one closest to the breaker box. Is this true? Or is more then one needed ? Thanks George
An exterior recep is required on the front and on the rear of the house. A recep is also required within 25' of the HVAC equipment.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 08:41 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

GFCI outdoors


Let me ask it this what is the purporse of having a gfci as soon as the wire exits the house, then at the next outlet put another gfci and so forth. Just because it all outside isn't one gfci enough at least certain number of outlets?Today I replace a floodlight for my friend it was protected by a gfci then an photo cell then the light. I called my friend and ask if the ight was on. he told me that the gfci on the side of house was not working. And he didn't know how many gfci was on the circuity that the light was on. Why so many downstream from each other?

Last edited by geo422; 09-10-2012 at 08:51 PM.
geo422 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 08:44 PM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,860
Rewards Points: 2,116
Default

GFCI outdoors


Quote:
Originally Posted by geo422 View Post
Let me ask it this what is the purporse of having a gfci as soon as the wire exits the house, then at the next outlet put another gfci and so forth. Just because it all outside isn't one gfci enough at least certain number of outlets?
Yes it is ok.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing kitchen gfci with gfci breakers-something's not right Fpbaum Electrical 14 05-01-2012 08:43 AM
Adding GFCI receptacle outdoors Dale Gribble Electrical 2 03-21-2012 01:18 PM
GFCI wiring for a jetted bathtub couchpotato Electrical 13 03-20-2012 11:26 AM
GFCI - White & Black Both HOT? hagler Electrical 11 03-19-2012 08:29 AM
GFCI Question Mdbuilder Electrical 6 06-19-2008 03:15 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.