Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-06-2010, 10:56 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Share |
Default

GFCI: Not For Use in Wet or Damp Locations?


There is a new GFCI WR for outside use
The old ones haven't changed, only the code
Oh...and the price is a lot more on the WR model

I generally use a GFCI indoors to feed a normal WR outlet outside
I also put GFCI outlets in my pool cabana to feed outside outlets
I installed my outside circuits in 2007 before the new code went into effect

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 11:14 AM   #2
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Default

GFCI: Not For Use in Wet or Damp Locations?


Here's the WR GFCI. Note the "WR" on the bottom right corner of the face of the outlet.

http://www.smarthome.com/36544B/Levi...r-Black/p.aspx


__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 11:21 AM   #3
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Default

GFCI: Not For Use in Wet or Damp Locations?


Home Depot sells the WR GFCI's:

http://www.homedepot.com/webapp/wcs/...atalogId=10053

You could also replace the breaker with a GFCI breaker and use non-gfci weather-resistant outlets outside. GFCI breakers cost more than the WR GFCI outlets.
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 11:37 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 608
Default

GFCI: Not For Use in Wet or Damp Locations?


Similar to Dave's idea of using a "standard" GFCI receptical indoors, you could just replace the breaker with a GFCI breaker. Then you only need regular WR recepticals and the pool lights will still be protected. Of course a GFCI breaker isn't cheap (about $40) compared to a standard GFCI receptical (about $15). Not sure of the cost of a WR GFCI receptical.

A couple of questions.

Are the pool lights feed from the existing GFCI outlet? If not, then they are not protected anyway (unless you have a GFCI breaker).

Is the breaker already a GFCI breaker? If so, then you don't need any GFCI recepticals. And the fact the breaker is 100' away doesn't matter. The GFCI is going to trip the moment is sees that all the current going out the hot isn't returning on the neutral. The fact that the leak might be 100' away just adds 100 NANO-seconds to the delay before the GFCI trips. But GFCI's are designed to trip in times measured in MILLI-seconds. So what would be a 5 millisecond delay with a GFCI receptical becomes a 5.0001 millisecond delay on the circuit breaker.
HooKooDooKu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 11:38 AM   #5
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Default

GFCI: Not For Use in Wet or Damp Locations?


Quote:
Originally Posted by OnThePike View Post
we're putting our lives in the hands of a breaker over 100-feet away. Is that a concern?
I'll let the experts chime in on that one....
__________________
Andrew


Last edited by secutanudu; 05-06-2010 at 11:40 AM.
secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 06:12 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 81
Default

GFCI: Not For Use in Wet or Damp Locations?


I could be mistaken but I think the comment about not for use in damp/wet locations is an indication that you must use a WP cover on the device.

As for the GFCI's, I'd recommend P&S but any of the major manufacturers' product will be just fine. Also check your local electrical supply house. With the NEC change starting to trickle through, many supply houses have these products in stock to support installers that are being required to use them more and more. And, if they're like our local supply houses, if you tell them what price you've seen at HD/Lowe's/online they might cut you a deal.

I feel comfortable telling you that our local supply houses in south TX would be just fine selling a 1595TRWR for $20.
brich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 06:41 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

GFCI: Not For Use in Wet or Damp Locations?


Quote:
Originally Posted by brich View Post
I could be mistaken but I think the comment about not for use in damp/wet locations is an indication that you must use a WP cover on the device
No, they changed this under NEC 2008
A WR - weather resistant - outlet is now required everywhere it is considered a damp/wet location

And I dislike most of the in-use covers as they really are not big enough to plug in a decent extension cord & close the cover
I found (3) larger ones that HD was closing out - 1 each
I bought all 3....they even looked up the price as the cashier could not believe it was correct

I'm using these 3 to replace the smaller in-use covers for the outlets that I use the most
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 09:35 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

GFCI: Not For Use in Wet or Damp Locations?


240v GFCI breakers do exist - can be expensive
Not sure about a 240v GFCI outlet

240v GFCI protection is required under 2008 for pools
You are not required to update older installations
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 10:21 PM   #9
Knows everything but that
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 165
Default

GFCI: Not For Use in Wet or Damp Locations?


Quote:
Originally Posted by OnThePike View Post
Thanks all. Wife returned from Home Depot this evening with a pair of Leviton White Weather Resistant 15A R52-W7599-TKW GFCI's that I'll install tomorrow.

I have another related question:

The pool pump isn't hard-wired. It has a three-prong plug that fits the circular 240-volt receptacle. Neither the receptacle nor the breaker(s) are GFCI protected. I did, however, install a new in-use cover for the 240-volt outlet.

The question is, does a 240-volt GFCI exist, and do I need one here as well?

Thanks again,
Jeff
Poor wife has to make all the HD trips alone? I mean.... I drag mine along every chance I can too.
JakAHearts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 11:44 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 81
Default

GFCI: Not For Use in Wet or Damp Locations?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
No, they changed this under NEC 2008
A WR - weather resistant - outlet is now required everywhere it is considered a damp/wet location

And I dislike most of the in-use covers as they really are not big enough to plug in a decent extension cord & close the cover
I found (3) larger ones that HD was closing out - 1 each
I bought all 3....they even looked up the price as the cashier could not believe it was correct

I'm using these 3 to replace the smaller in-use covers for the outlets that I use the most
I knew about the code change, just never really put 2 and 2 together that manufacturers changed labeling on their GFCI's. And we sell P&S... pretty sad

As for in-use covers, check out P&S or a few others. We don't sell many of the P&S since price is always a factor and theirs is simply too "overdesigned" to be price competitive with the likes of Taymac and Intermatic. But, when you're willing to spend the money they really are a nice, deep in use cover.

Check out the WIUC10SC ("shallow") or WIUC10CL ("standard"). Good luck
brich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2010, 08:03 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

GFCI: Not For Use in Wet or Damp Locations?


My wife will not go near HD or Lowes usually, unless we need to pick out a light fixture or something that will be visible

The 3 I bought were red dot, most of theirs work very well
The ones that do not work that well are see-thru covers

My issue is that I use the front/side outlets for my Halloween & Christmas display
So they are plugged in for a month before Halloween & over a month for Christmas
As a result I really need them to close correctly with a 12g or 14g cord
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2010, 10:13 PM   #12
Inspector/Instructor
 
codeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 369
Default

GFCI: Not For Use in Wet or Damp Locations?


Quote:
Originally Posted by brich View Post
I knew about the code change, just never really put 2 and 2 together that manufacturers changed labeling on their GFCI's. And we sell P&S... pretty sad

Talked with the mfg on the issue of WP GFCI Rec's at a trade show, they have actually encapsulated the circuitry to keep it from corroding.
The original Recs would fail after getting wet or damp. I have one on my house right now that needs changing due to this problem.

codeone is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
receptacles


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Freezer tripping GFCI davidclements Appliances 57 08-13-2014 08:14 PM
GFCI Stumper ksqrdks Electrical 2 04-03-2010 06:24 AM
new gfci on new circuit pops rtoni Electrical 39 11-15-2008 10:18 AM
GFCI Question Mdbuilder Electrical 6 06-19-2008 03:15 PM
GFCI questions 5circles Electrical 4 11-05-2007 08:24 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.