Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-23-2009, 01:05 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Gfci in a masonry wall


i am attempting to upgrade our current outlet in the bathroom with a GFCI. sounds simple so far? keep reading.

the current layout has an old wall sconce with an outlet (device to be replaced) wired into a junction box that is grouted into a masony wall. the wall is the "wet" wall of the bathroom and backs up to the kitchen. i bought the correct GFCI device to simply rewire in the old wall sconce junction box but the box is too small to fit the outlet.

basically it looks like i need to chip out the old junction box from the wall attempting to not disturb the plaster finish too much. how can i do this? how can i remove the old metal juntion box and install a new one? i have a lot of hand tools and a fair amount of power tools to do the job. of course i don't want to take a sledge hammer to it.

quite simply, how can i "easily" remove a hole in a masonry wall and install a new junction box?

thanks

captain25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2009, 07:33 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Gfci in a masonry wall


Quote:
how can i "easily" remove a hole in a masonry wall and install a new junction box?
Slowly and carefully. Hopefully it's doesn't have any brackets that are plastered over. Sometimes they will just pull straight out when tou chip away the surrounding plaster or grout.

220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2009, 07:41 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Gfci in a masonry wall


Can you install another box somewhere else in the bathroom & then daisy chain the old box off the load size of the GFCI?
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 12:08 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: OR
Posts: 168
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Gfci in a masonry wall


Probably too late to help, but why not buy a GFCI breaker, assuming the upstream daisy chain won't work? Even $50 sounds cheap to me compared with the time it took me the one time I upsized a box in a concrete wall.
philS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with drywall to masonry wall kc5oh Building & Construction 5 03-31-2008 09:14 PM
Gluing greenboard to cement wall... tips? AdamB5000 Remodeling 5 03-31-2008 10:11 AM
exposed brick wall Jrr1099 Carpentry 1 03-25-2008 02:45 PM
GFCI questions 5circles Electrical 4 11-05-2007 08:24 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.