Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-13-2007, 05:52 PM   #1
I have gas!
 
Clutchcargo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,780
Rewards Points: 1,012
Default

gfci lighting circuit


I replaced my basement lighting. I added outlets to the new junction boxes on the ceiling that connects the lighting circuit together. The first junction box has a GFCI protected outlet and in turn makes the lights GFCI protected as well. If an actual ground fault event happens, the lights go out too. Is any of this a code violation?
TIA

__________________
I tear things down and build them up.

Last edited by Clutchcargo; 06-13-2007 at 07:16 PM.
Clutchcargo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2007, 08:01 PM   #2
weekend warrior
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: ohio
Posts: 186
Rewards Points: 150
Default

gfci lighting circuit


if it'll leave you in a dangerous, dark situation... then it's probably a code violation.

are all the lights on one gfci circuit? or multiple?

johnny331 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2007, 08:27 PM   #3
I have gas!
 
Clutchcargo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,780
Rewards Points: 1,012
Default

gfci lighting circuit


All the lights are on one circuit. I was planning on just wiring up the lights and then got the idea to add recepticals in the junction boxes on the ceiling.
__________________
I tear things down and build them up.
Clutchcargo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2007, 09:22 PM   #4
weekend warrior
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: ohio
Posts: 186
Rewards Points: 150
Default

gfci lighting circuit


I would leave the lights behind the GFCI in the circuit, that way only the receptacle will trip, not the lights as well. I don't see any reason to put the lights themselves on a GFCI, are they permanently on the ceiling?
johnny331 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2007, 09:50 PM   #5
I have gas!
 
Clutchcargo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,780
Rewards Points: 1,012
Default

gfci lighting circuit


The only reason I have the lights on the GFCI is because I wanted to feed a couple more downstream outlets. Otherwise, if I pigtail all the outlets, I would have to spring for 2 more GFCI outlets.
__________________
I tear things down and build them up.
Clutchcargo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2007, 05:53 AM   #6
Member
 
RippySkippy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ames, Iowa
Posts: 1,233
Rewards Points: 500
Default

gfci lighting circuit


Quote:
Originally Posted by Clutchcargo View Post
The only reason I have the lights on the GFCI is because I wanted to feed a couple more downstream outlets. Otherwise, if I pigtail all the outlets, I would have to spring for 2 more GFCI outlets.
Is the framing still open?

If it is, you could replace the wire from the gfci to the lights with a 12-3, the black could be protected through the first outlet, the red pigtailed into the source before the gfci.

At the first light, the black is wire nutted, while the red powers the light. At the outlet the red is wire nutted and the black (protected) feeds the outlet. At the next light the black is wire nutted, and the red powers the light. From the last light switch, continue on with a 12-2 black to black (still protected), and the rest of the outlets on the circuit would be protected.

If you don't have the wire or if this would cause you to purchase a roll, it may be cheaper to get a box of 3 for $11 @ the BORG.

Rip
RippySkippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2007, 06:17 AM   #7
I have gas!
 
Clutchcargo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,780
Rewards Points: 1,012
Default

gfci lighting circuit


This is a 15A circuit using THHN. I'm at 3 conductors in the conduit, 1 hot, 1 neutral, and the returning switched hot for the lights. Adding one more hot would require derating, correct?

I'm thinking maybe the only practical way to do this is to swap out the standard outlets and pigtail GFCI outlets in.
What's the BORG?
__________________
I tear things down and build them up.
Clutchcargo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2007, 06:24 AM   #8
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

gfci lighting circuit


Quote:
Originally Posted by Clutchcargo View Post
This is a 15A circuit using THHN. I'm at 3 conductors in the conduit, 1 hot, 1 neutral, and the returning switched hot for the lights. Adding one more hot would require derating, correct?
Yes, but it won't affect the size of the breaker until you get to more than 9 conductors, so you can still use the 14ga wire and 15A breaker. Seems like replacing the standard receptacles with GFCIs might be easier though.
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2007, 06:52 AM   #9
Member
 
RippySkippy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ames, Iowa
Posts: 1,233
Rewards Points: 500
Default

gfci lighting circuit


BORG = Big Orange Retail Giant (Home Cheepo) Check out this thread on google groups
RippySkippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2007, 07:12 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Rewards Points: 500
Default

gfci lighting circuit


The fact that a GFI tripping would leave someone in the dark is not a NEC issue at all.

It may be a local code issue, but it is likely that it would only apply to commercial or industrial facilities.

Leave the lights as they are if you are comfortable with the results.

__________________
Master Electrician
jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in New Addition? sandyman720 Electrical 6 11-27-2011 03:34 PM
New GFCI Breaker Tripping w/ 3-way Flourescents BigJimmy Electrical 8 12-29-2008 02:29 PM
Replacing wiring in middle of run, ungrounded lighting circuit alexz Electrical 3 07-05-2007 08:53 PM
So lost - electrical requirements please help lapsis9 HVAC 4 12-20-2006 08:09 PM
wiring a gfci outlet in circuit bobo Electrical 12 08-31-2005 08:38 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.