GFCI Issue - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-18-2012, 03:38 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

GFCI issue


I have an issue with a GFCI outlet that is by my sink. Here is the breakdown. I have the outlet and a lightswitch that goes to a light above my sink all hooked together, however, whenever i attempt to turn the light on the breaker in the switch blows. I have tried to set it up multilple ways, but just cannot figure it out. I have posted a picture with how it is currently set up. everything work as is right now as long as i dont turn the light on, please help!!

Advertisement

jh12640 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 03:58 PM   #2
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,400
Rewards Points: 2,462
Default

GFCI issue


Why are you trying to wire the light theough the gfci? As for the seitch blowing, do you mean that the gfci outlet is tripping?

Advertisement

__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 04:22 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: IL
Posts: 853
Rewards Points: 726
Default

GFCI issue


Its because you are using the load side hot line to the switch and the line side neutral. This creates a ground fault so the GFCI will trip every time. If it didn't I'd worry. Just connect the red wire to the switch from the line side hot wire. The light won't be GFCI protected so hopefully that is OK with your situation. If you need GFCI protection on the light you need to run a neutral from the load side of the GFCI to the light fixture.
curiousB is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to curiousB For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (12-18-2012), NJMarine (12-18-2012), TTW (12-18-2012)
Old 12-18-2012, 05:24 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

GFCI issue


thanks for the response curious b. from what i am gathering i am moving the red wire on the top right of the GFCI outlet to the top left of the GFCI outlet. is that correct?
jh12640 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 05:46 PM   #5
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Rewards Points: 250
Default

GFCI issue


Not quite, I read that you need a white wire from the top left to the light.
Or, move the red wire, tie it with the black wire on the GFCI receptacle.
Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 08:36 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

GFCI issue


thanks for the reply. that worked!!! woot!

Advertisement

jh12640 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing kitchen gfci with gfci breakers-something's not right Fpbaum Electrical 14 05-01-2012 09:43 AM
GFCI Question wildjuanpablo Electrical 7 11-28-2011 08:54 PM
GFCI troubleshooting XwpisONOMA Electrical 20 11-13-2011 06:19 PM
GFCI grounding; and inside double gang box? Wildswalle Electrical 5 05-29-2011 02:25 PM
Gfci Circuit howard.wheaton Electrical 10 01-29-2009 06:14 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts