Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-03-2008, 09:05 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Question

GFCI intermittent nuisance trips

Okay, first off I would like to state that I am not a electrician, an electronic technician perhaps, but when it comes to AC I am as lost as a ball in tall grass. I would also like to state that I believe that I understand the fundamentals of a GFCI breaker, it is looking for a difference in current on the common (neutral, white) and the hot (power, black) wires and a variance over 5 milliamperes will cause the GFCI to trip. This is usually a result from a ground fault, which may or may not include the actual earth ground, but is usually a faulty connection somewhere in the common run, caused by moisture or even a bad spot in the insulation due to inadequate precautions while installing (usually). The reason that I wanted to put all that first is due to my conducting several tedious hours researching my problem and discovering that most of the replies covered to some degree and on occasion disputed the above mentioned items, but what you see is what I have come to be most correct. I have not found any scenarios that were close enough to my situation that I felt comfortable in proceeding with any corrective actions.