Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-04-2011, 04:42 PM   #1
E-lec-tri-city
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 162
Send a message via ICQ to brons2 Send a message via AIM to brons2 Send a message via MSN to brons2 Send a message via Yahoo to brons2
Share |
Default

GFCI installation question


Hi, I am installing a GFCI in my kitchen. I was all set to put it in a double gang box along with a 2nd outlet on the LOAD connections.

But then I read the instructions and they say "DO NOT install the GFCI receptacle in an electrical box containing (a) more than four (4) wires (not including the grounding wires) or (b) cables with more than two (2) wires (not including the grounding wire). Contact a qualified electrician if either (a) or (b) are true."

So should I put this in a single box and move the other plug to the other side of the stud bay? The walls are bare down to the studs, so I have lots of options.

Or are they just trying to scare me, and there's really nothing wrong with putting a GFCI in a double box along with another outlet?

brons2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2011, 04:53 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 18
Default

GFCI installation question


i believe they are referring to 4 wires in any single box. So double gang should be fine.
I don;t know the code where you are, but where i am GFCI countertop receptacles have to be rated for 20A on a 20A breaker, be on an independant circuit, with no more than 2 receptacles on the circuit.

Haligonian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2011, 05:10 PM   #3
E-lec-tri-city
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 162
Send a message via ICQ to brons2 Send a message via AIM to brons2 Send a message via MSN to brons2 Send a message via Yahoo to brons2
Default

GFCI installation question


I do have a 20A GFCI, but I was going to put three additional receptacles behind it. I guess that's no bueno?
brons2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2011, 05:18 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 18
Default

GFCI installation question


That's a no go where i am. you'd have to check your code, but i can't imagine they'd allow 4 countertop receptacles on the same circuit. US and Canada code is usually fairly indentical
Haligonian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2011, 05:49 PM   #5
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,782
Default

GFCI installation question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Haligonian View Post
That's a no go where i am. you'd have to check your code, but i can't imagine they'd allow 4 countertop receptacles on the same circuit. US and Canada code is usually fairly indentical
Totally inaccurate.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2011, 06:01 PM   #6
E-lec-tri-city
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 162
Send a message via ICQ to brons2 Send a message via AIM to brons2 Send a message via MSN to brons2 Send a message via Yahoo to brons2
Default

GFCI installation question


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
Totally inaccurate.
OK, so how many receptacles can I put on the load side of a 20A GFCI outlet?

Last edited by brons2; 06-04-2011 at 06:23 PM.
brons2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2011, 07:09 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 18
Default

GFCI installation question


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
Totally inaccurate.
CEC 26-722 (B)

So it is code here, which is why i advised him to check his code.
Haligonian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2011, 08:09 PM   #8
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,782
Default

GFCI installation question


Quote:
Originally Posted by brons2 View Post
OK, so how many receptacles can I put on the load side of a 20A GFCI outlet?
There is no limit.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2011, 04:51 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 120
Default

GFCI installation question


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric
There is no limit.
Wrong. There is a limit of 12
heartlessmcfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2011, 07:14 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 18
Default

GFCI installation question


Quote:
Originally Posted by heartlessmcfly View Post
Wrong. There is a limit of 12
On a circuit with regular receptacles yes, but counter top have different rules.
I would be very surprised if code allowed that many counter top receptacles on the same circuit.

There's no way that there's "no limit" on counter top receptacles...you're saying i could put 20 counter top receptacles on the same circuit in the US if i wanted to? i find that hard to believe.
Haligonian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2011, 07:56 AM   #11
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,778
Default

GFCI installation question


Quote:
Originally Posted by heartlessmcfly View Post
Wrong. There is a limit of 12
WRONG! There is NO limit. (Nationally).
Please get your facts straight before making such bold statements. Remember that the OP does have his location in his profile, and it is Texas, USA.
This is why having your location in your profile, even just the country, is important.


Quote:
Originally Posted by heartlessmcfly View Post
There's no way that there's "no limit" on counter top receptacles...you're saying i could put 20 counter top receptacles on the same circuit in the US if i wanted to? i find that hard to believe.
Yes, there is a way. Yes, we are saying that. If you don't believe it go get yourself a copy of the NEC and find out. That's how I can say this and not guess at it.


That said, no one would ever do this, but it IS possible and legal....UNLESS there is a binding WRITTEN local amendment prohibiting it.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
Jim Port (06-05-2011)
Old 06-05-2011, 07:59 AM   #12
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,778
Default

GFCI installation question


Quote:
Originally Posted by brons2 View Post
OK, so how many receptacles can I put on the load side of a 20A GFCI outlet?
I (personally) typically go no more than 3 downstream of a GFI device.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2011, 08:01 AM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 18
Default

GFCI installation question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
WRONG! There is NO limit. (Nationally).
Please get your facts straight before making such bold statements.


Yes, there is a way. Yes, we are saying that. If you don't believe it go get yourself a copy of the NEC and find out. That's how I can say this and not guess at it.


That said, no one would ever do this, but it IS possible and legal....UNLESS there is a binding WRITTEN local amendment prohibiting it.
Wow...i guess the codes aren't as similar as i thought lol, that seems crazy to me.

So how many is standard practice in the US? Do you just always put all counter tops on the same circuit?

Edit: you answered my question as i was typing this
Haligonian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2011, 08:50 AM   #14
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Default

GFCI installation question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Haligonian View Post
Wow...i guess the codes aren't as similar as i thought lol, that seems crazy to me.
You should update your profile with your province
The NEC required two 20 amp GFCI protected circuits to serve the counter top receptacle. Is this the same in CA?
We can use 20 amp circuits for lighting but I believe that a previous thread had something in it that said CA required lighting to be on a 15 amp circuit.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2011, 09:53 AM   #15
Lic Elect/Inspector/CPO
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 369
Default

GFCI installation question


In the US there is no max number of recepts on a 15 or 20 amp residential circuit. Where max number comes into play is commercial. Each is counted at 180 va, which would be max 10 for 15 amp and 13 for 20 amp.
The kitchen counter outlets require (2) 20 amp seperate circuits, which can also supply certain other areas ie dining room, gas stove and a few others. Local amendments may have other requirements.

NJMarine is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another puzzling question about a GFCI outlet--(PROBLEM FOUND) Giles Electrical 0 02-22-2010 08:38 PM
Another puzzling question about GFCI outlet Giles Electrical 3 02-20-2010 01:00 PM
Question about GFCI behind future kitchen sink ChrisDIY Electrical 5 02-18-2010 09:02 AM
gfci outlet testing question 205bhamjim Electrical 4 01-27-2010 09:13 PM
Generaire 1042 Humidifier Installation Question rosenjas HVAC 12 01-26-2009 05:10 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.