Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-02-2009, 09:40 AM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

GFCI on generator tripping; home backup


Thanks for everyone's concern for my financial well being! I actually found it on craigslist and paid $1200. The guy I bought it from paid $2200, or so he said but my research indicated he probably did. Apparently he was liquidating some assetts. The whole thing seemed sketchy but I checked the serial with the manufacturer and the seller's story checked out. I figured it was a good deal for a quality unit with a Honda motor.

I agree that the kit consisting only of labels is a bit ridiculous. Anyone want to sell me some duct tape and a sharpie? The manufacturer did send me the instructions electronically. So, I'm satisfied. It looks like a pretty easy job.

Thanks again for the feedback everyone!

MrNeutron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2009, 11:14 AM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

GFCI on generator tripping; home backup


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoyizit View Post
Nah, I think the average house has more than 900' of Romex in it and all that distributed capacitance adds up.
I'm going to fire my ghostwriter!
Ah, I see - learn something new every day
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2009, 11:40 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

GFCI on generator tripping; home backup


Quote:
Originally Posted by MrNeutron View Post
The generator is a Wacker Neuson GPS6600A
While I have your attention, does 5.2 gals of gas in this generator give you 60 kwh? More? Less?
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2009, 12:51 PM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

GFCI on generator tripping; home backup


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoyizit View Post
While I have your attention, does 5.2 gals of gas in this generator give you 60 kwh? More? Less?

Not Sure. Here are the specs. Maybe you can tell me.
http://products.wackerneuson.com/web...0386&langId=-1
MrNeutron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2009, 01:06 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

GFCI on generator tripping; home backup


Quote:
Originally Posted by MrNeutron View Post
Not Sure. Here are the specs. Maybe you can tell me.
http://products.wackerneuson.com/web...0386&langId=-1
I couldn't log in.
At $2.50/gal for gasoline you'd be paying 21 cents per kwh. It's got to cost more than this. . .people in Hawaii pay this much for commercially generated power.

Last edited by Yoyizit; 07-02-2009 at 01:25 PM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2009, 08:47 PM   #21
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

GFCI on generator tripping; home backup


I wonder what everyone thinks about this. I asked the tech support folks at Wacker Neuson if there is a way to disable the GFCI for the 120/240v receptacle while leaving it enabled for the standard three prong 120 recptacles. Their answer is below. My questions are 1) is a three pole transfer switch really safer and more efficient? and 2) is there any downside to running a generator that doesn't have a GFCI on a three pole switch? Your thoughts?


1)The reason the GPS6600A GFCI trips when you connect to the transfer switch on your house is because your electrician installed a two pole transfer switch.
Two pole transfer switches are very common and economical.
However, a two pole transfer switch only disconnects the two “hot” wires. The generator neutral is hard wired to the neutral wire on your house.
When the generator neutral is always connected to the house neutral and both neutrals are bonded to ground… you get a ground loop circuit which trips the GPS6600A GFCI (as it should) A ground loop wastes power and may actually energize the GPS6600A frame!

2)The best solution to your application is to have your electrician install a Three pole transfer switch.
A three pole transfer switch disconnects the two “hot” wires + the Neutral wire. This eliminates a ground loop circuit.
Then nothing has to be changed in the GPS6600A, the GFCI module still provides full protection, and you can power other things like hand tools etc.

3)If you must use the two pole transfer switch…then you MUST open the neutral-ground bond in the GPS6600A.
When the GPS6600A is connected to your house, you will not have GFCI protection at any of the other generator receptacles.
If you desire to use the 120V duplex receptacles on the GPS6600A, then you need to plug in a power cord with a built-in GFCI module
(check hardware, electrical, or contractor supply stores).
A plug-in GFCI will still provide protection when the generator neutral-ground bond is open (floating neutral).
MrNeutron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2009, 11:11 PM   #22
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,625
Rewards Points: 1,044
Default

GFCI on generator tripping; home backup


Their instructions are exactly correct. A 3 pole transfer switch will transfer the neutral as well as the phases. (See post #10). If you go this route, the transfer switch must be installed downstream of the utility service bond jumper. The generator must then have its neutral bonded to ground.

If the neutral bond is disconnected in the generator, nothing connected to the generator is GFI protected. If you use the generator somewhere other than to power the house, you should provide some sort of GFI protection. The pigtail GFI cords described in the instructions will work, but you need to remember to use them.

If possible, replace the 120 volt receptacles in the generator with GFIs. That way, protection is built-in. If not, the pigtail GFIs might be the best bet.

Any type of GFI will provide protection whether the neutral is bonded of floating.

Rob

P.S. There are plenty of portable generators rated 5000 watts or less that have no GFI protection at all. I don't get it.... it only takes a couple of watts to kill a person.

micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need some advice on buying home termite & water damage. Mr Heshup General DIY Discussions 1 03-29-2009 04:06 PM
Hot Tub GFCI Grounding Question kearnak1420 Electrical 3 04-30-2008 06:48 PM
GFCI questions 5circles Electrical 4 11-05-2007 09:24 PM
Pay GC to construct home and finish it myself? L O N G . . . Badfish740 Off Topic 9 07-27-2007 09:44 AM
A facelift for your home Grumpy Remodeling 0 07-07-2004 08:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.