GFCI In Garage? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-27-2008, 10:24 PM   #1
DIY Expert in Training!
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Warminster, PA
Posts: 297
Rewards Points: 250
Default

GFCI in garage?


I am about to overhaul my attached garage. I plan on installing 4 20amp outlets. Do all need to be GFCI or just the first in the line?

Advertisement

gone_fishing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2008, 10:36 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

GFCI in garage?


Quote:
Originally Posted by gone_fishing View Post
I am about to overhaul my attached garage. I plan on installing 4 20amp outlets. Do all need to be GFCI or just the first in the line?

Depends on how they are wired.

Advertisement

chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2008, 10:56 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

GFCI in garage?


Each garage receptacle needs GFCI protection. This can usually be accomplished with one GFCI unit per circuit located either at your panel as a breaker or at the first outlet box as a GFCI receptacle unit.

When a 120/240 volt circuit (with one neutral) is run to the garage, usually the easiest way or providing GFCI protection is to use a double wide GFCI breaker in your panel.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2008, 11:19 PM   #4
DIY Expert in Training!
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Warminster, PA
Posts: 297
Rewards Points: 250
Default

GFCI in garage?


Allan, so I can run a new 20amp circuit and make the first outlet a GFCI and the rest regular 20amp outlets?
gone_fishing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2008, 11:27 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 1,002
Rewards Points: 506
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

GFCI in garage?


Quote:
Originally Posted by gone_fishing View Post
Allan, so I can run a new 20amp circuit and make the first outlet a GFCI and the rest regular 20amp outlets?
Yes. Just make sure to daisy chain the outlets and wire the additional outlets from the LOAD terminals on the GFCI.
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2008, 01:00 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Alden, NY
Posts: 49
Rewards Points: 35
Default

GFCI in garage?


Quote:
Originally Posted by theatretch85 View Post
Yes. Just make sure to daisy chain the outlets and wire the additional outlets from the LOAD terminals on the GFCI.
There should be instructions in the GFCI box. All the ones I've bought have a little sheet with diagrams explaining how to connect them as standalone or chained.
BataviaJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2008, 01:06 PM   #7
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

GFCI in garage?


GFCI breakers in the panel are a huge inconvenience unless the panel is conveniently located in the garage. Only one GFCI receptacle is needed per circuit, as the downstream receptacles can be wired off the GFCI's load terminals.

Advertisement

Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Garage Wiring issues jimmyfloyd Electrical 20 06-08-2009 03:57 PM
Garage Door Install marly General DIY Discussions 2 11-17-2008 03:51 PM
Garage GFCI on Subpanel sweaty Electrical 2 09-20-2008 01:29 PM
GFCI in detached garage question WShawn Electrical 2 08-02-2008 04:27 PM
GFCI Question Mdbuilder Electrical 6 06-19-2008 04:15 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts