Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-04-2007, 08:58 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 308
Share |
Default

GFCI for a fish tank?


Hi;
I was wondering whether it would be advisable to use a GFCI protected circuit to run the water filter and air pump on my fish tank.
Often, I need to remove the lamp cover from the tank, and wonder what might happen if I were to come in contact with the water in the tank, and an exposed wire in the lamp.

There is no real path to ground through the water, as all of the hoses used for the air pump are plastic.
The water filter is what bothers me. It is 2-wire, and appears to be made kind of cheaply.
If there is a problem with the filter, in theory I could be electrocuted while holding onto a ground of some sort (the cable TV coax for example) and getting my hand into the tank.

Perhaps I have answered my own question here. I should just install the GFCI and be done with it.

FW

fw2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 09:20 PM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,778
Default

GFCI for a fish tank?


No way I'd install a GFI for a fish tank. Not if I liked my fish.

IMO you are creating a solution to a problem that does not exist.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 09:24 PM   #3
Electrician philosopher
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 838
Default

GFCI for a fish tank?


Lightning strikes while you are at work...no more fishies Same reason fridges and freezers don't get protected on my watch.
Andy in ATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 09:48 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 308
Default

GFCI for a fish tank?


Good point.
Also, this fish tank is in the bedroom, which now requires AFCI.
Can one have AFCI and GFCI on the same circuit?

As for my concerns about being electrocuted, I can always unplug the lamp before I remove the cover. In addition, the cover is plastic.

I often do create problems where there are none. I have GFCI on my mind, as I have just finished installing them in the kitchen and bathroom.

FW
fw2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 10:42 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 308
Default

GFCI for a fish tank?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
No way I'd install a GFI for a fish tank. Not if I liked my fish.

IMO you are creating a solution to a problem that does not exist.
Actually, I have only 3 fish that are hanging on. I would really like to get rid of them, but don't have the heart to just let them die<g>
fw2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2007, 06:24 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Downeast Maine
Posts: 999
Default

GFCI for a fish tank?


I've only got experience with saltwater, but it's not unheard of for a tank to become live from a pump with bad insulation or a broken glass heater.

You can buy a "grounding probe" for your tank, which is a bit of metal that plugs into your ground prong of your outlet. If the tank were to become live, the current would dissipate to ground.

If you GFCI protect that outlet, the GFCI will trip. That's a good thing, in my book. Neither you nor your fish will respond well to current in the water.

As for lightning, etc. You should have an automatic battery backup air pump on your tank in case of outage. They're made by penn plax, they turn on when the power goes off, and they're about $8. Cheap insurance if you have things of value in your tank.
NateHanson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2007, 12:06 PM   #7
Once fried, twice shy.
 
elkangorito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Thailand
Posts: 251
Default

GFCI for a fish tank?


If you're really worried about it, you could use isolation transformers to supply the lamp & the filter.

__________________
Switchboard design engineer & Licensed Electrician (Australia).
elkangorito is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Freezer tripping GFCI davidclements Appliances 41 06-05-2014 12:41 PM
Low hot water pressure crebive Plumbing 38 02-26-2013 12:26 AM
Toilet jpark Plumbing 18 01-05-2009 07:12 AM
New GFCI Breaker Tripping w/ 3-way Flourescents BigJimmy Electrical 8 12-29-2008 02:29 PM
Upstairs toilet pipe noise bliss Plumbing 8 01-10-2008 07:55 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.