Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-11-2008, 06:19 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,202
Share |
Default

GFCI failure


Hi;
Does a GFCI receptacle interrupt both hot and neutral when it trips, or just the hot?
I have one where I did some work, and now there is no neutral.
I suspect the receptacle, because the silver (neutral) screw fell out while I was working on it, and when I screwed it back in, the whole thing seemed a bit questionable. I wanted to replace it, but I didn't have another one.

I want to get one of a better quality. Can someone tell me what brand I should look for?

Edit: I just did some testing on another GFCI receptacle and found that it does cut both hot and neutral when it trips. I guess that's standard, since it would work if the device is reverse wired.
So, I am sure that I have a bad GFCI.

Thanks

__________________


Last edited by KE2KB; 12-11-2008 at 06:31 PM.
KE2KB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2008, 07:05 PM   #2
Member
 
dSilanskas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Posts: 474
Default

GFCI failure


Go to the electrical store and get a P&S GFCI

dSilanskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2008, 07:31 PM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,798
Default

GFCI failure


I like Cooper devices. Any name brand is fine, I just don't care for Leviton.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2008, 07:50 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

GFCI failure


Quote:
Originally Posted by KE2KB View Post
Hi;
Does a GFCI receptacle interrupt both hot and neutral when it trips
I think it has to interrupt both because it only knows there is a current difference, not which conductor has the deficit.
There's probably a UL spec on this aspect of its design.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2008, 07:59 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,926
Default

GFCI failure


I would not consider a device poor quality just because the terminal wiggles; it might have a wire connection inside as opposed to a metal strip connection.

I would not conside a device poor quality just because the screw came all the way out, although if the screw is loose and apt to strip its threads then we have a problem.

A reminder, additional loads may be connected to the load side neutral of a GFCI unless the matching hot conductor is connected to the load side hot terminal of that GFCI. Vice versa too.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2008, 08:03 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,202
Default

GFCI failure


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
I like Cooper devices. Any name brand is fine, I just don't care for Leviton.
Yea, Leviton makes some real junk. They probably have a commercial or industrial line too, but I've not seen it at HD.
I'll look for one of the brands you guys mentioned (besides Leviton)

Thanks
__________________

KE2KB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2008, 08:04 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,202
Default

GFCI failure


Quote:
Originally Posted by AllanJ View Post
I would not consider a device poor quality just because the terminal wiggles; it might have a wire connection inside as opposed to a metal strip connection.

I would not conside a device poor quality just because the screw came all the way out, although if the screw is loose and apt to strip its threads then we have a problem.

A reminder, additional loads may be connected to the load side neutral of a GFCI unless the matching hot conductor is connected to the load side hot terminal of that GFCI. Vice versa too.
There is nothing connected to the load terminals of the GFCI.
This one doesn't really fit into the box. It seems to be bottoming out on a wire nut or maybe an internal connector.
The whole thing is a nightmare, but I don't have time or $$ to rewire it right now.
__________________

KE2KB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2008, 08:05 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,202
Default

GFCI failure


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoyizit View Post
I think it has to interrupt both because it only knows there is a current difference, not which conductor has the deficit.
There's probably a UL spec on this aspect of its design.
Agreed.

__________________

KE2KB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Freezer tripping GFCI davidclements Appliances 57 08-13-2014 08:14 PM
new gfci on new circuit pops rtoni Electrical 39 11-15-2008 10:18 AM
GFCI Question Mdbuilder Electrical 6 06-19-2008 03:15 PM
GFCI questions 5circles Electrical 4 11-05-2007 08:24 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.