GFCI Conundrum - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-28-2012, 03:05 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles County
Posts: 206
Rewards Points: 154
Default

GFCI conundrum


I've heard all of these wonderful things about GFCI. I'm at Lowe's. I pick up a box of 3 receptacles for this room project I'm doing. I'm at the checkout and I stop and get out of line. I'm about to pay $10 each x 3 = $30 for stuff that's made in China. Why am I doing this? Because it's supposed to be better quality. By definition it can't be good quality if it is made in China. Therefore I'm wondering just what exactly is it that I'm doing here? Now I have two bad choices and I can't decide. Pay $1.20 for lousy old fashioned receptacles or $10 for potentially defective new fancy ones.

Advertisement

jackwashere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 03:08 PM   #2
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Rewards Points: 500
Default

GFCI conundrum


No one said anything about better quality. Just safer. Although it sounds as of for your application you may or may not need them.

Advertisement

__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 03:13 PM   #3
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,163
Rewards Points: 2,118
Default

GFCI conundrum


What are you even installing them for if they are not required?
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 03:17 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 167
Rewards Points: 150
Default

GFCI conundrum


For your situation, it sounds as though you may not even need them. If you want them for the safety purpose alone and you know that all of the outlets are on the same circuit, find the initial outlet (furthermost to start of electrical run) and put the GFCI there with the wire leading to the remaining regular outlets off of the load side. Then you only have to spen $10 on oe GFCI outlet and all out the outlets in the room are still GFCI protected.

Good luck with your project.... make sure the breaker is off... safety first
diyer111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 04:35 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: IL
Posts: 858
Rewards Points: 732
Default

GFCI conundrum


Quote:
Originally Posted by jackwashere View Post
By definition it can't be good quality if it is made in China.
Oh really, ever been to China? I go there a few times a year and visit electronics factories. Guess where all the iPhones, iPads, TV's, PCs are all made? You guessed it, China.

Sadly the US has seriously eroded its manufacturing base over the past 20 years. We're just not competitive when you can pay someone $1.68/hr.
curiousB is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to curiousB For This Useful Post:
mpoulton (08-29-2012)
Old 08-28-2012, 05:07 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Fox Valley, WI
Posts: 214
Rewards Points: 164
Default

GFCI conundrum


Quote:
Originally Posted by jackwashere View Post
I'm about to pay $10 each x 3 = $30 for stuff that's made in China. Why am I doing this? Because it's supposed to be better quality. By definition it can't be good quality if it is made in China.
I also disagree with this....take a look at my table saw, it came from china....its pretty darn good quality.......use my iphone....its the best phone i've ever had.....the list goes on and on.......china makes great stuff....and crap stuff.....can't make a blanket statements like that and be accurate
ryan50hrl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 07:48 PM   #7
Member
 
kevinp22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 323
Rewards Points: 250
Default

GFCI conundrum


Seriously, tell us where you were thinking of installing them and we will tell you if its required
kevinp22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 01:52 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles County
Posts: 206
Rewards Points: 154
Default

GFCI conundrum


Quote:
Originally Posted by curiousB View Post
Sadly the US has seriously eroded its manufacturing base over the past 20 years. We're just not competitive when you can pay someone $1.68/hr.
It's not just the pay. I worked for a Chinese guy. The Chinese are great at mass producing stuff. They'll run circles around everybody when it comes to quantity. The problem is that they know that a given amount of their product will be defective. They willingly forgo fixing defects because they know they'll make up the loss elsewhere. Once you get reamed a few times for fixing defects you realize the boss is right. It's built into their strategy. It's what made them great.

I just get the willies when I pay $10 to buy GFCI's from them.

And in answer to the idea someone had about all outlets on the same circuit. I have a separate circuit for each and every outlet. The room is set up in such a way that it makes the most sense anyway.

Advertisement

jackwashere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing kitchen gfci with gfci breakers-something's not right Fpbaum Electrical 14 05-01-2012 09:43 AM
GFCI wiring for a jetted bathtub couchpotato Electrical 13 03-20-2012 12:26 PM
GFCI - White & Black Both HOT? hagler Electrical 11 03-19-2012 09:29 AM
GFCI conundrum bodbs Electrical 12 10-12-2010 08:49 PM
GFCI Question Mdbuilder Electrical 6 06-19-2008 04:15 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts