Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-27-2009, 09:46 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

GFCI Circuit


I have a friend buying a new home and the GFCI protection is on the garage door opener circuit. Which seems odd to me.

When he questioned the builder he was told that it's a new code that started Jan - 2009, the builder also stated that he questioned the electrician and the electrician showed him documentation on this new code. Are there in electricians out there that can give some feed back?

Thanks in advance

as2637 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 10:06 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

GFCI Circuit


Yup, that's the new code

I'm putting a GFCI at a lower level, then feeding off the load to a normal outlet near the opener. That way if it kicks off I can reset it easier

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 10:47 AM   #3
Member
 
dSilanskas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Posts: 474
Rewards Points: 250
Default

GFCI Circuit


Its over kill if you ask me. If something isnt GFCI its AFCI.
dSilanskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 11:23 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

GFCI Circuit


I'd think the capacitance from the motor windings to the motor shell would give you enough reactive leakage current to give false trips on the GFCI.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 12:28 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

GFCI Circuit


Yeah, we'll see how many problems this causes
I already have 2 older lamps that do not seem to work on an AFCI circuit. I'm going to check them & make sure there aren't any loose wires.

I guess if the AFCI prevents some fires its worth it in the long run
But motors are a whole different ball game
I know there are problems with some vacuum cleaners on AFCI

The problem is if there are enough problems/false trips then people will distrust them & remove them. I know people who will still not install GFCI's

Last edited by Scuba_Dave; 03-27-2009 at 03:07 PM. Reason: sp
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 01:49 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

GFCI Circuit


Quote:
Originally Posted by dSilanskas View Post
Its over kill if you ask me. If something isnt GFCI its AFCI.
FWIW,
having no circuit breaker in a line will probably eventually cause a fire, and CBs cost $20 or so, so you get a lot of safety for this $20.
BTW, the chance of a house fire per year from any cause is probably 1 in 1000 so this hazard is kind of Down In The Noise, to begin with.

Now comes an AFCI which adds some small increment of safety, maybe worth an additional dollar out of the $20 for a CB. But AFCIs cost a bit more than $1, and I haven't been able to get data on how much extra incremental safety you get by using one of these.
I don't believe it is twice as much as you get from using a breaker.

Even insurance companies charge you less for the last $100K worth of insurance than for the first $100K worth.

The Law of Diminishing Returns doesn't seem to apply to the makers of some of these hi-tech gadgets.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 03:09 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

GFCI Circuit


They don't have diminishing returns
The Mfg's are making more $$ with these new requirements
Cost of outlets have gone up - Tamper proof & weather resistant required, AFCI circuits expanded. They make more $$

Last edited by Scuba_Dave; 03-27-2009 at 03:16 PM. Reason: sp
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 03:14 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

GFCI Circuit


our garage door is on a gfci circuit and our house was built 3 years ago. I came home one night from work and the x-mas lights had tripped the gfci. Garage door won't open. I didn't have a key to the front door as I always use the garage door opener. yeah I was stuck outside for awhile till the wife got home.
jeerme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 03:16 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

GFCI Circuit


That's why I have 8 dedicated outside circuits just for Christmas lights. More will be going in now that the garage is up
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 03:41 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

GFCI Circuit


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
They don't have diminishing returns
The Mfg's are making more $$ with these new requirements
Cost of outlets have gone up - Tamper proof & weather resistant required, AFCI circuits expanded. They make more $$
That's kind of my point.
If the consumer is forced to buy these things
then the companies that make them should also be forced to charge a price for them that is in keeping with the additional safety, if any,
that the consumer is buying.

Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GFCI for the Lamp Post (GFCI for circuit that is fed Power from light) jamiedolan Electrical 7 02-25-2009 10:50 PM
Gfci Circuit howard.wheaton Electrical 10 01-29-2009 05:14 PM
new gfci on new circuit pops rtoni Electrical 39 11-15-2008 10:18 AM
20A GFCI on 15A circuit jheavner Electrical 35 10-16-2008 03:45 PM
GFCI and Smoke alarm circuit issues 00u6166 Electrical 9 10-30-2007 02:41 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.