Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-13-2011, 12:12 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 124
Share |
Default

which GFCI to buy?


I just removed the GFCI that produced smoke when I pressed the test button. It is a 15 amp GFCI. The circuit breaker to the GFCI says 20 amp. My house was built 10 years ago.

Which new GFCI should I buy? 15 amp or 20 amp?


Last edited by mike932; 05-13-2011 at 12:16 PM.
mike932 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2011, 12:36 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,400
Default

which GFCI to buy?


The only difference is the 20 amp has a T shaped slot. The 15 amp will be fine. You probably can't find a device that requires the T slot in your house.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
mike932 (05-13-2011)
Old 05-13-2011, 02:56 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 124
Default

which GFCI to buy?


So I just replaced the GFCI with a new one. I turned on the circuit breaker. GFCI does not work. I tested all of the wires and there is no charge at all.

What do I do now? Replace the circuit breaker switch?
mike932 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2011, 03:04 PM   #4
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

which GFCI to buy?


Did you hit the "reset" button? Being it's new, you have to do that the first time to 'start' it.

DM.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2011, 03:06 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 124
Default

which GFCI to buy?


Quote:
Originally Posted by DangerMouse View Post
Did you hit the "reset" button? Being it's new, you have to do that the first time to 'start' it.
DM.
Yes I did. The problem is no longer the GFCI. The problem is that the power wire is dead. I tested the wire.
mike932 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2011, 03:09 PM   #6
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

which GFCI to buy?


You already said the next step then!

(disconnect power first, of course)

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2011, 03:10 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 124
Default

which GFCI to buy?


Ok, I will replace the circuit breaker switch. Thank you.
mike932 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2011, 03:11 PM   #8
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,400
Default

which GFCI to buy?


The circuit breaker may just need to be reset.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2011, 03:15 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 124
Default

which GFCI to buy?


How do I reset the breaker? Just turn the MAIN breaker switch off and on?

Last edited by mike932; 05-13-2011 at 03:17 PM.
mike932 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2011, 03:21 PM   #10
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

which GFCI to buy?


No, I don't think he caught the part where you said you turned it back on is all.
IF the breaker STAYED turned on, and the outlets do not work, there is most likely an open in the line somewhere.
If the breaker shuts itself off, there is a short.

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2011, 03:25 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 124
Default

which GFCI to buy?


When I turn the breaker to the on position, it stays that way even though there is no power from it. In fact, when the old GFCI failed last week and produced smoke, none of the circuit breakers switched off by itself.

Does "open in the line" mean the line is interrupted?
mike932 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2011, 03:32 PM   #12
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

which GFCI to buy?


Did you test the breaker with a meter?
If it failed, replace it.

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2011, 03:34 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 124
Default

which GFCI to buy?


Ok, I will test the breaker. Thank you.
mike932 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2011, 03:39 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 124
Default

which GFCI to buy?


Is this video good advice?
mike932 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2011, 03:56 PM   #15
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

which GFCI to buy?


I'm on dialup, can't watch videos, sorry.

DM

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Freezer tripping GFCI davidclements Appliances 41 06-05-2014 12:41 PM
Pond pumps tripping GFCI lendosky Electrical 23 12-23-2010 03:22 PM
GFCI Stumper ksqrdks Electrical 2 04-03-2010 06:24 AM
GFCI Question Mdbuilder Electrical 6 06-19-2008 03:15 PM
GFCI questions 5circles Electrical 4 11-05-2007 08:24 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.