Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Closed Thread

Old 06-29-2013, 08:57 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

GFCI breakers

Hello. First off I am not an electrician but have install telephone,data and television cable for various companies in the past. This being said I decided to run all the electrical wiring in my new home that we are about to finish. My question is can I install several plug ins and light switches on one GFCI breaker? I went the GFCI plug route first but that kept tripping the plug due to sharing a neutral I think. I have ran 12/3 w ground for 2 circuits to several areas in the house and want to GFCI protect them if possible. Can this be done with the red and black hot wires sharing the same white neutral back to the panel? Thanks in advance.

Old 06-29-2013, 09:21 PM   #2

GFCI breakers

Also I used 12/2 G to go from my home run power source which in most cases comes in at the light fixture in each room, to the light switch. In most cases I used black to take power to the switch and came back on the white neutral wire the the fixture. Some areas I was able to use a black to and from the switch and just tied the neutrals together and they ran back to the panel. Another question that I have would be if I keep all my white neutrals basically away from a switching circuit in a series with wall plugs wouldn't a GFCI plug work. I mean as long as I don't have any neutrals in a switch box tied together going back to the neutral buss bar in the panel in a given circuit?

Old 06-29-2013, 09:26 PM   #3
Retired from the grind

Rewards Points: 64

GFCI breakers

Stop what you are doing, and call in a real electrician. If you are saying that you used switch loops in your circuits for lighting, you have to color the white neutral as black or red, but they cannot stay white.