Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-07-2012, 04:59 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

GFCI breaker issue


I have been on a long journey of inheiriting a hot tub and gazebo. Last year I poured the concrete foundation, moved the spa and gazebo over to my house, and now just dug a trench and ran wiring to my main panel.

Here is my problem..

I have a 240v hot tub. I have a 50a breaker with 6-3 wiring run to a Spa panel disconnect that has a GFCI (50a) breaker. The breaker came with the panel. I hooked up the spa panel according to the instructions. The main panel service lines (red) (black) connect into the spa panel lugs, the white neutral into the neutral bar, and the copper into the ground. After doing a voltmeter test I can confirm that I have 240v live inside the spa panel.

However.. When I install the GFCI breaker, switch it into the ON position, i touch the terminals on the breaker and the voltmeter shows zero volts. Nothing. If I touch the red terminal and then the ground bar I get 120 volts. Vice versa with the black & ground, 120 respectively. Again, touching both terminal on the front of the breaker it reads 0 volts. The pigtail is hooked up to the neutral, and the white neutral from the spa is hooked up to the GFCI breaker on the very bottom. The ground connection is connected at the ground bar . I have a spare GFCI breaker that hasn't been used in two years, identical to the one I have and it is showing the same results. I am at a loss and not sure which way to go here. Any help is appreciated. The panel is a Eaton - Cutler Hammer 50amp Spa Panel.

Thanks.


Last edited by silverviper; 06-07-2012 at 05:03 PM.
silverviper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2012, 05:03 PM   #2
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

GFCI breaker issue


Quote:
Originally Posted by silverviper View Post
I have been on a long journey of inheiriting a hot tub and gazebo. Last year I poured the concrete foundation, moved the spa and gazebo over to my house, and now just dug a trench and ran wiring to my main panel.

Here is my problem..

I have a 240v hot tub. I have a 50a breaker with 6-3 wiring run to a Spa panel disconnect that has a GFCI (50a) breaker. The breaker came with the panel. I hooked up the spa panel according to the instructions. The main panel service lines (red) (black) connect into the spa panel lugs, the white neutral into the neutral bar, and the copper into the ground. After doing a voltmeter test I can confirm that I have 240v live inside the spa panel.

However.. When I install the GFCI breaker, switch it into the ON position, i touch the terminals on the breaker and the voltmeter shows zero volts. Nothing. If I touch the red terminal and then the ground bar I get 120 volts. Vice versa with the black & ground, 120 respectively. Again, touching both terminal on the front of the breaker it reads 0 volts. The pigtail is hooked up to the neutral, and the white neutral from the spa is hooked up to the GFCI breaker on the very bottom. The ground connection is connected at the ground bar . I have a spare GFCI breaker that hasn't been used in two years, identical to the one I have and it is showing the same results. I am at a loss and not sure which way to go here. Any help is appreciated. The panel is a Eaton - Cutler Hammer 50amp panel.

Thanks.
Can you post a picture of the spa panel and your connections?

stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2012, 05:38 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,594
Rewards Points: 2,148
Default

GFCI breaker issue


What did you use to test for voltage !
You could be reading phantom voltage !
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2012, 05:41 PM   #4
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

GFCI breaker issue


Quote:
Originally Posted by dmxtothemax View Post
What did you use to test for voltage !
You could be reading phantom voltage !
But he's not reading 240v across the breaker either....
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2012, 05:46 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

GFCI breaker issue


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
But he's not reading 240v across the breaker either....
After staring at the instructions for a long time I think I might have solved it... maybe. When I opened up the spa panel for the first time I moved it to the left one circuit. I believe this is meant to be installed in the middle so you get power from both buss's.. red and black. I won't be able to test this out yet because there is a pretty good thunderstorm going through.
silverviper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2012, 06:08 PM   #6
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

GFCI breaker issue


Quote:
Originally Posted by silverviper View Post
After staring at the instructions for a long time I think I might have solved it... maybe. When I opened up the spa panel for the first time I moved it to the left one circuit. I believe this is meant to be installed in the middle so you get power from both buss's.. red and black. I won't be able to test this out yet because there is a pretty good thunderstorm going through.
A picture is worth a thousand words.

stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dimming lights on one circuit, GFCI breaker tripped boatman537 Electrical 4 06-05-2012 10:43 AM
GFCI breaker trips wth fluorescent light DexterII Electrical 0 11-22-2011 09:01 AM
GFCI receptacle on GFCI circuit breaker thewoodguy Electrical 3 12-02-2010 01:37 PM
Can I replace a breaker w/ gfci myself secutanudu Electrical 12 07-28-2009 11:41 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.