Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-30-2012, 08:07 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

GFCI Breaker


HI I have a GFCI breaker dedicated to 2 GFCI outlets that are both outside. I can not get the breaker to reset and no wiring looks damaged. I took out the GFCI breaker and put a regular breaker in its place and the outlets worked fine. I am really stumped on what the problem could be and hope someone can help Thanks Gary

Gzuber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2012, 08:13 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,997
Rewards Points: 3,110
Default

GFCI Breaker


Your not being very clear, do you have one GFI that's protecting 2, other outlets, or are there 3, GFI's?

joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2012, 08:16 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

GFCI Breaker


i have a GFI circuit breaker and 2 gfi outlets
Gzuber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2012, 08:21 PM   #4
Member
 
kevinp22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 323
Rewards Points: 250
Default

GFCI Breaker


First if you have a gfci breaker you do not need gfci receptacles on that circuit - that is
Totally redundant.

What is causing it to trip is likely a ground and neutral touching in one of the 2 boxes most likely touching the white screw on the receptacle
kevinp22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2012, 08:27 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

GFCI Breaker


That's What I kinda figured. It was that way when I bought the house the one outlet is used to operate my pool pump so didnt know if it was required to have a gfi breaker. So can I just but a regular circuit breaker in its place and not worry about finding the problem?
Gzuber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2012, 08:33 PM   #6
Member
 
kevinp22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 323
Rewards Points: 250
Default

GFCI Breaker


1. since one is pool related I think you should wait until some of the more experienced posters weigh in for a full answer

as to the other issue, find out what is causing the problem. a ground to neutral short is a safety issue - you do not want any current flowing on the EGC. once you resolve it and get an answer to #1 above, then decide what to do breaker-wise
kevinp22 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to kevinp22 For This Useful Post:
Gzuber (05-30-2012)
Old 05-30-2012, 09:15 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default

GFCI Breaker


You probably have water in one or both of your outside outlet boxes. Will trip the GFCI breaker, but a regular breaker will hold. Look and see.
JACK HOTTEL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2012, 10:38 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: IL
Posts: 737
Rewards Points: 618
Default

GFCI Breaker


You need to really understand the circuit layout. GFCI outlets after a GFCI breaker is redundant as stated but it is also a bad thing. You could press the test button at the GFCI receptacle but have the GFCI breaker trip first. This would be very confusing to an unknowing person trying to just conduct the monthly test at a GFCI outlet (press receptacle test button and power trips off but reset button on receptacle doesn't trip?!?!?!).

Just swapping out the breaker to a standard one and having GFCI at point of use seems to make sense but the devil is in the details. What if parts of this branch circuit go to places needing GFCI protection before the GFCI outlets? They would then become unprotected.

You need to find why the GFCI breaker is tripping first and foremost. Once you sort that out then maybe you just remove the GFCI outlets and put in regular waterproof duplex receptacles and a label saying they are GFCI protected at the panel. I would also get a GFCI tester plug and try all the outlets to be sure they do trip the GFCI breaker when a test ground fault is fired at each outlet.

curiousB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switch triggering GFCI breaker on a DIFFERENT circuit stillmarried Electrical 5 11-29-2009 09:14 PM
GFCI breaker jasnor Electrical 2 11-09-2009 10:00 PM
GFCI Breaker & GFCI Outlet together??? abinpa General DIY Discussions 6 04-12-2009 08:59 PM
GFCI Recepticle vs. Breaker WaldenL Electrical 19 01-18-2009 12:04 PM
Kitchen outlet breaker simma Electrical 3 02-28-2007 05:50 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.