Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-08-2011, 02:21 AM   #1
Jack of All Trades
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Boston
Posts: 95
Share |
Default

GFCI brand opinions?


Hey guys I'm still rewiring my garage (takes me forever to do anything ) But I had some problems with my GFCI breaker tripping, over and over until I could narrow it down to a bad fluorescent light fixture.

BUT doing all that running down to the basement just to reset really made me want to put GFCI outlets in the garage so I can just swap the breaker to a normal 20A.

Already got two of these: Hubbell GF5350IA

Brand any good? Got 'em cheap off Ebay NIB from some surplus electrical supply places.

In case you're wondering, I got faceless because they'll be mounted high on the wall where my two 20A lines enter the garage so I can run the GFCI's first and put all the other loads down-stream. I wanted them to be "GFCI switches" and nothing else.

Just wondering if this is a good brand or what? I considered going the even more cheapo route and using Harbor Freight stuff, but wasn't sure they wouldn't trip all the time. (or trip at all when they actually need to ) plus they don't have faceless ones.

Oh, and also wanted to know if there's any issue mounting two of these (for two separate 20A lines) in the same double-ganger box? Or would separate boxes be better?


Last edited by DoctorWho; 07-08-2011 at 02:25 AM.
DoctorWho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 05:27 AM   #2
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,939
Default

GFCI brand opinions?


2 in the same box is fine but don't mount them where you can not reach them. You have to be able to test or rest them without a ladder.

Also some GFCI's that you buy on eBay are older models that do not meet current code but you should be OK with "dead front" models

__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 06:27 AM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,692
Default

GFCI brand opinions?


Never buy anything that may be needed to protect your life from HF!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 09:15 AM   #4
Jack of All Trades
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Boston
Posts: 95
Default

GFCI brand opinions?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
Never buy anything that may be needed to protect your life from HF!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
lol, my reasoning exactly!

I'm not going to mount them on the roof! Just right above head-level, easily within reach. Been reading stuff all morning and looks like they're a pretty good brand, I'd never heard of Hubbell before buying these, just wanted to make sure they weren't chinese garbage (like most things on ebay these days).
DoctorWho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 09:19 AM   #5
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,406
Default

GFCI brand opinions?


Hubbell has always be on the more expensive side of wiring devices.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 04:53 PM   #6
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Default

GFCI brand opinions?


The Hubbell’s I’ve installed were nice. Seemed to have the quality. Easy to install. Course I didn’t have to buy ‘em….Boss just said, “Here ya go….have a nice day”.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2011, 01:19 AM   #7
Jack of All Trades
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Boston
Posts: 95
Default

GFCI brand opinions?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Hubbell has always be on the more expensive side of wiring devices.
Paid about $8 each plus S&H of course but still way cheaper than retail.
DoctorWho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2011, 03:41 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 73
Default

GFCI brand opinions?


Actually I've had a bee in my bonnet about the apparent quality of GFCI's for a long time now. Maybe I'm a brute but every... shall we say readily available brand... seems to crumble in my hand like a dried flower. Anyone know of a... filled body GFCI as opposed to eggshell construction for just a few dollars more?
mysterylectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2011, 06:29 AM   #9
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Default

GFCI brand opinions?


Leviton 'Smartlock Pro' series. Try electrical supply houses, not the big box stores.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2011, 10:03 AM   #10
Jack of All Trades
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Boston
Posts: 95
Default

GFCI brand opinions?


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
2 in the same box is fine but don't mount them where you can not reach them. You have to be able to test or rest them without a ladder.
Hey guys, got one of the gfci's installed and tested, everything I wired works perfect! I do have a follow up question though about putting both gfci into one double-gang box. Is it still okay if each is not only on a separate 20A breaker, but also from an entirely separate "service drop"-not sure if that's the term.
I have 2 meters and 2 panels and a 20A line from each panel is running to the garage. So I'm still not sure if it's okay for them to share grounding through the double-gang box? Hope that makes sense.
If needed I thought I could just move one of the 20A lines so they're both in the same panel, but only if I have to. ??
DoctorWho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2011, 10:38 AM   #11
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,786
Default

GFCI brand opinions?


Quote:
Originally Posted by DoctorWho View Post
Hey guys, got one of the gfci's installed and tested, everything I wired works perfect! I do have a follow up question though about putting both gfci into one double-gang box. Is it still okay if each is not only on a separate 20A breaker, but also from an entirely separate "service drop"-not sure if that's the term.
I have 2 meters and 2 panels and a 20A line from each panel is running to the garage. So I'm still not sure if it's okay for them to share grounding through the double-gang box? Hope that makes sense.
If needed I thought I could just move one of the 20A lines so they're both in the same panel, but only if I have to. ??
No problem at all.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to brric For This Useful Post:
DoctorWho (07-13-2011)
Old 07-13-2011, 08:07 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 73
Default

GFCI brand opinions?


I'm gonna check out those SmartPros, I saw a pic from the rear and they have 4 steel screws holding front to back... impressed already! And they seem to be only a few dollars more... thanks for the tip!
mysterylectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2011, 08:21 PM   #13
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Default

GFCI brand opinions?


Quote:
Originally Posted by mysterylectric View Post
I'm gonna check out those SmartPros, I saw a pic from the rear and they have 4 steel screws holding front to back... impressed already! And they seem to be only a few dollars more... thanks for the tip!

Hope you like 'em

__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Freezer tripping GFCI davidclements Appliances 41 06-05-2014 12:41 PM
GFCI as part of light circuit? iceracer Electrical 5 07-05-2011 08:05 PM
new gfci on new circuit pops rtoni Electrical 39 11-15-2008 10:18 AM
GFCI Question Mdbuilder Electrical 6 06-19-2008 03:15 PM
GFCI questions 5circles Electrical 4 11-05-2007 08:24 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.