Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-23-2010, 09:42 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sonoma County, California
Posts: 164
Share |
Default

GFCI in the bathroom trouble


Hello All,

Another electrical question, this one comes from the up stairs bathroom.

I am going to take some pictures, but the camera rechargeable battery is charging, will get some pictures up soon.

The way the bathroom is laid out and I may been incorrect here but they way I think it lays out.

When facing the bathroom an outlet on the right hand side (closest outlet to the Service Panel) is where the power comes into the room from the 20 amp breaker.

The GFCI outlet then travels about 6 feet to another outlet (changing it out because the outlet was not GFCI just a normal outlet)

Has Black and White coming in and black and white going out

Above the two sinks there is a light, that I was going to replace anyways, but I will bring this up a little later.

Went to the store and bought a GFCI outlet installed to what I thought was correct, turned power back on and the little green light in the right hand corner of the outlet was on, but not power.

Went back to the original outlet I wrote about it has power go to the one I just replaced no power, so I checked the black and white wires with my tester and the power coming in was hot but the second set of black and white wires leaving the outlet was no power

To try and figure out was going on I turned the power on to the light and it was dead and then turned the power on to the fan it was dead too

I turned the power back off checked everything, while the power was on and off I tried to reset the GFI and still nothing.

Took the standard outlet and hooked it back up and the system was back to normal.

Any idea where I messed up here, I have replaced other outlets before with out a problem.

Is there something special to GFI's that I do not know about or messed up on

I did not mention but there was also a ground wire and hooked that up too

Thanks in advance.
canyonbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2010, 09:54 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

GFCI in the bathroom trouble


Only 1 GFCI is needed

Power goes to the LINE side of the GFCI
Other outlets are then protected off the LOAD side of the GFCI

A GFCI will only reset when there is power to the GFCI
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2010, 09:55 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 9
Default

GFCI in the bathroom trouble


Don't think I'm talking down to you, but you pushed the 'reset' button on the gfi after you installed it right?
djlazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2010, 10:53 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Homestead,Pa
Posts: 109
Default

GFCI in the bathroom trouble


Go back to just a regular receptacle there. The GFCI in place covers everything on the load side of it!
Paelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2010, 11:16 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Thumbs up

GFCI in the bathroom trouble


Quote:
Originally Posted by Paelectrican View Post
Go back to just a regular receptacle there. The GFCI in place covers everything on the load side of it!
...And the way to test if the "Regular" outlet is downstream of a GFCI receptacle --and protected by it-- is, to "plug" a pigtail socket in the HOT and GROUND pins. If it trips out the GFCI, you're protected and nothing further needs to be done, or can be done!!
spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2010, 02:35 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sonoma County, California
Posts: 164
Default

GFCI in the bathroom trouble


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
Only 1 GFCI is needed

Power goes to the LINE side of the GFCI
Other outlets are then protected off the LOAD side of the GFCI

A GFCI will only reset when there is power to the GFCI
No way, well good to know. Guess I was doing something was not needed.

Thank you for the info.
canyonbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2010, 02:36 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sonoma County, California
Posts: 164
Default

GFCI in the bathroom trouble


Quote:
Originally Posted by djlazar View Post
Don't think I'm talking down to you, but you pushed the 'reset' button on the gfi after you installed it right?
No, I do not see it that way. But yes I did push it.
canyonbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2010, 02:36 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sonoma County, California
Posts: 164
Default

GFCI in the bathroom trouble


Quote:
Originally Posted by Paelectrican View Post
Go back to just a regular receptacle there. The GFCI in place covers everything on the load side of it!
I went back to the normal one and that was before I knew all this info.

Thanks all
canyonbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bathroom lighting on GFCI? TReally Electrical 7 10-21-2009 11:05 PM
Bathroom Remodel GFCI Receptacle Lilshaving Electrical 4 02-24-2008 10:07 AM
Best way to wire this Bathroom? GFCI, Drawing inside twilightcall Electrical 31 01-21-2008 09:29 AM
Bathroom Vanity Lights... after GFCI? CuCullin Electrical 4 11-12-2007 03:16 PM
Extending a GFCI in the bathroom diamondking Electrical 10 05-01-2007 05:48 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.