Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-07-2013, 08:10 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 24
Share |
Default

GFCI In Attached Barn


I recently had a 100 AMP sub-panel installed in my attached barn and I currently am in the process of installing GFCI receptacles into my barn using the new sub-panel. I realize that I need to use the GFCI Receptacles, but do they need to be Weather Resistant or can I use the regular ones? My barn is attached to my home and all plugs will be inside the barn. Any information would help, Thanks.

AdamsBurr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 08:24 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 25,789
Default

GFCI In Attached Barn


Only one GFI is needed to protect all the outlets on the circut. Once one GFI's been installed any other outlets down stream for that one will be protected.
If it was mine I would be running 12-2 with ground, use a 20 Amp. breaker.

When you open up the GFI there will be a piece of yellow tape over two of the terminals. That side will be marked load. You connect the incoming power to the line side and use the load side for anything that get protected down stream from there.

Reguler outlets are fine.
There is no limit to the number of outlets you can have on one circut, but it's common to see two differant circuts run, one for each side of the building.
If your going to have an outside outlet I like to have the line run from the breaker box to a GFI that's inside the building then run a line to the outside outlet. Reason being there's a lot less chance of faulse trips from moisture getting in the GFI.

joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GFCI ground wire MARKEN Electrical 3 10-25-2012 12:42 PM
GFCI as part of light circuit? iceracer Electrical 5 07-05-2011 08:05 PM
GFCI grounding; and inside double gang box? Wildswalle Electrical 5 05-29-2011 01:25 PM
How much power can i give my new barn? DonQ2010 Electrical 16 09-08-2010 09:23 AM
GFCI Question Mdbuilder Electrical 6 06-19-2008 03:15 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.