Gfci - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-17-2010, 12:30 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default

gfci


2 outlets connect together in a junction box , if i install a gfci in one of them, is the other outlet protected too? thanks

Advertisement

gefeiora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2010, 12:55 AM   #2
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

gfci


It depending on the way it wired on the receptales.

Normally with the GFCI you have to bring the incomming power to line side of GFCI { it will be marked to see which one it is } and the load side that will go to next receptale.

Before you do that turn off the power of that receptales to see what else it is on that circuit.

And how many cables and numbers in the box so we can able give you the correct way to hook up.

Merci.
Marc

Advertisement

frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2010, 01:07 AM   #3
Professional Wood Shafter
 
ryanh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 186
Rewards Points: 150
Default

gfci


If you feed the second outlet from the load terminals on the first gfci.
ryanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2010, 10:13 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 295
Rewards Points: 254
Default

gfci


Could be wired either way.
You can test it without even looking at the wiring.
Plug in a lamp to the non-gfci outlet.
Press the test button. If the light turns off then back on when you hit reset it's gfci protected.
michaelcherr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2010, 02:49 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default

gfci


i understand the principles of the gfci, first line and nest the load, etc. in this case the line that goes to the bathroom,is a junction box that connects 2 outlets and the lights.There is no grounding and thought to install a gfci to protectthe outlets. In the junction box they all connect to line with the power. So there's no first or second.Thanks for the all replies,and thanks again.
gefeiora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2010, 05:47 PM   #6
Jack of all - master none
 
hyunelan2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SW Suburbs of Chicago
Posts: 1,222
Rewards Points: 530
Default

gfci


On a related topic, is there a limit to the number of receptacles that can be protected by a single GFCI outlet?

i.e. if you go breaker -> (line side) GFCI (load side) -> outlets 1,2,3... what is the limit? Is it the standard limit for receptacles on the branch, or can a GFCI only adequately protect x number of outlets?
hyunelan2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2010, 07:10 PM   #7
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

gfci


Quote:
Originally Posted by gefeiora View Post
i understand the principles of the gfci, first line and nest the load, etc. in this case the line that goes to the bathroom,is a junction box that connects 2 outlets and the lights.There is no grounding and thought to install a gfci to protectthe outlets. In the junction box they all connect to line with the power. So there's no first or second.Thanks for the all replies,and thanks again.
Then GFCI the two outlets and leave the light on the line side.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2010, 11:03 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default

gfci


Thanks, for all the information. Another question.How many times you reset the gfci ? They say once a month ? So if happens to have a tv and vcr on that line, you must program tv and vcr every month!!!? thanks
gefeiora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2010, 12:49 AM   #9
Mad Scientist
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 772
Rewards Points: 512
Default

gfci


Meh, they say you should test them once a month, but I've never really heard of anyone actually doing it. I know I test 'em when I install them, and generally never again.

Advertisement

McSteve is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Freezer tripping GFCI davidclements Appliances 57 08-13-2014 09:14 PM
GFCI Stumper ksqrdks Electrical 2 04-03-2010 07:24 AM
new gfci on new circuit pops rtoni Electrical 39 11-15-2008 11:18 AM
GFCI Question Mdbuilder Electrical 6 06-19-2008 04:15 PM
GFCI questions 5circles Electrical 4 11-05-2007 09:24 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts