Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-29-2012, 08:54 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 83
Share |
Default

GFCI in a 2 duplex gangbox and load out:


Okay, I’m sure still a newbie, but I’ve successfully done with always careful study until I really understand what is going on: Regular toggle switches 2 in a double gangbox with through wire to other source; I’ve done a few three way switches; I’ve done numerous series of single duplex outlets on one continuing source line; One thing I have not done is a double gang box with two duplex outlet/plugs. And to top it off this one will be in a bathroom so one of the duplex plugs will be GFCI and I will want the other duplex in the box in protected "load" position and also with a load/out line to continue on through to the vanity light and switch.

After reading instructions, this is what I have come up with:


Line/source:
White goes to “Line” silver screw on GFCI duplex.
Black goes to “Line” gold screw on same GFCI duplex.
Ground will go to the Ground pigtail.

Load/out:
White is pigtailed with two other Whites: one to “Load” silver screw on GFCI duplex and one to White/silver screw on the regular duplex in the same gangbox.

Black is pigtailed with two other Blacks: one to “Load” gold screw on GFCI duplex and one to Black/gold screw on the regular duplex in the same gangbox.

The ground pigtail will have four wires: Line, Load, and jumps to ground screw on each duplex.

If this is correct my next question is box size which continues to be my weakest point of understanding through all of my wiring projects. Can this go in a 25 cubic in. “11/12” box?

(Hopefully this is well enough written to encourage an answer!)
Thanks!
DiegoJames
DiegoJames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 09:08 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,469
Default

GFCI in a 2 duplex gangbox and load out:


I would not run the vanity light on the gfci, but your plan is right.
Remember that you can only have one wire under each screw.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
DiegoJames (02-29-2012)
Old 02-29-2012, 09:40 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 83
Default

GFCI in a 2 duplex gangbox and load out:


Not running vanity light on the GFCI: I'm assuming that would not be for any inherent danger in the wiring plan, but rather for practical safety like in having the vanity light remain on in the case of a hazard or emergency going on with the GFCI in case of shut down, and/or simply because the vanity light is not at hazard for getting wet, etc.? I could surely send the source first to the vanity and THEN to the GFCI.
DiegoJames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 07:04 AM   #4
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,044
Default

GFCI in a 2 duplex gangbox and load out:


Do you have two or three cables in the double box?
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 08:52 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 83
Default

GFCI in a 2 duplex gangbox and load out:


I'm actually decided not to run the vanity light out of the double duplex box, so I'm only going to have one cable in and nothing going out, so there'll be plenty of space.
DiegoJames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 09:49 PM   #6
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,052
Default

GFCI in a 2 duplex gangbox and load out:


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan
I would not run the vanity light on the gfci, but your plan is right.
Remember that you can only have one wire under each screw.
Most of the gfi's have two holes for two wires per screw.
__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.