Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-27-2013, 08:29 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

gfci


I have been reading about the gfci receptable, and was wondering if I start the gfci plug in a different room would all the plugs on the same circuit be gfci protected. Can a 12/2 circuit be used for gfci? I am finishing my basement with a wet bar and where the wet bar is located if I place the gfci plug around the sink it would not be the first plug on the circuit. Any ideas would be helpful.

kosovofalcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 09:08 PM   #2
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,550
Rewards Points: 0
Default

gfci


As long as you feed the downstream receptacles from the "LOAD" terminals on the GFCI, the downstream receptacles will be protected.

__________________
I am a lawyer, but not your lawyer. And who cares anyways? We're here to talk construction. This is DIY advice, not legal advice.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 10:07 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: CO
Posts: 38
Rewards Points: 0
Default

gfci


All devices downstream of the gfci will be protected. Can also install a gfi breaker in the panel.
mbryan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to mbryan For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (01-28-2013)
Old 01-28-2013, 03:32 AM   #4
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,593
Rewards Points: 20
Default

gfci


Quote:
Originally Posted by mbryan View Post
All devices downstream of the gfci will be protected. Can also install a gfi breaker in the panel.
Only if wired from the LOAD terminals.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 05:55 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 0
Default

gfci


When u say down stream you are meaning main power to gfci then what ever else is dasiy chained after that on the line side. Is that correct. Would a gfci breaker do the same thing as the plug but just in the panel?
kosovofalcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 07:45 AM   #6
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,584
Rewards Points: 102
Default

gfci


GFCI breaker would do the same thing for lots more money.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 07:45 AM   #7
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,161
Rewards Points: 78
Default

gfci


Quote:
Originally Posted by kosovofalcon View Post
When u say down stream you are meaning main power to gfci then what ever else is dasiy chained after that on the line side. Is that correct. Would a gfci breaker do the same thing as the plug but just in the panel?
Yes, just a different form of the device. Keep in mind, that your jurisdiction, may require AFCI breakers in a finished basement, so you really need to check with them first, before going further.

As for wiring the basement, how many outlets are we talking all together for just this one 20amp circuit? Also what city & state, or country are we talking about, where you reside?
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 07:47 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 0
Default

gfci


No more than 8 plugs on the circuit. Reside in fredericksburg va
kosovofalcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 07:59 AM   #9
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,161
Rewards Points: 78
Default

gfci


Here in the U.S., you are not limited to the number of receptacles on a circuit, just the total load. You could have a hundred outlets on a circuit, unless your area specifically spells it out, for the limit.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 08:07 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 0
Default

gfci


Thanks

kosovofalcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Freezer tripping GFCI davidclements Appliances 57 08-13-2014 08:14 PM
Another GFCI Question Jzone99 Electrical 5 09-16-2012 01:56 PM
Replacing kitchen gfci with gfci breakers-something's not right Fpbaum Electrical 14 05-01-2012 08:43 AM
GFCI - White & Black Both HOT? hagler Electrical 11 03-19-2012 08:29 AM
GFCI Question Mdbuilder Electrical 6 06-19-2008 03:15 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.