Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-12-2012, 06:57 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 7
Share |
Default

Gfci


I want to know if I can add a GFCI combo switch from an existing light. This bathroom has no outlets. I was able to put in a regular outlet for the time being. I added wiring from the light to the outlet. I bought the GFCI combo, but am so confused if I can even use it with the existing configuration. The power is coming from the light source. Any thoughts would be appreciated. There are 3 wires, black, white and ground.

jkanketell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 07:14 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,741
Default

Gfci


Can not be done without another wire.
Of course I'm guessing that you mean a switch/gfci combo.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 07:31 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 12
Default

Gfci


if power is coming from light, u will need the black and white just to switch the light. so if its possible to get another wire down, or a 3 wire ur all set.
wallajon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 07:39 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 7
Default

Gfci


So if I can pigtail a black and another white wire it should work? How does that configure for the GFCI? Do I use the switch wires that are attached to the GFCI? I just might have to fork over the dough and get an electritian. I am at my wits end. Thanks for the input, I really appreciate the quick replies guys.
jkanketell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 07:41 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 7
Default

Gfci


Yeah, a switch, GFCI outlet. So, you mean another black and white wire, pigtailed from the light?
jkanketell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 07:43 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,741
Default

Gfci


Just another wire.
What you need is a hot to feed the receptacle and switch, a neutral to feed the receptacle, and a wire to return power to the light when the switch is turned on.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 07:49 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 7
Default

Gfci


So, pigtailing would work? Or a completely new wire connected to the light? Sorry, if I sound like a dunce. I don't give up easliy. I guess how you get the power shouldn't matter. Thank you so much for your quick reply.
jkanketell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 07:53 PM   #8
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,741
Default

Gfci


A new wire to the light fixture.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 08:14 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 7
Default

Gfci


I already added a new wire to the light. So a second one too? Smacks head, yeah I must be a dunce. LOL By wire I mean a 12/2 bundle of black, white, and a ground. thanks
jkanketell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 09:17 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 9
Default

Gfci


You need 3 "conductors" study what jbfan posted
tduncanlu1077 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 09:28 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 7
Default

Gfci


are the three conductors name black, white and ground? Please s p e l l it out for me, I am tired of all of the diagrams I have been studying. Thanks.
jkanketell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 09:35 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 9
Default

Gfci


Ok here goes - pull out the 12/2 (easier to explain guys) pull a 12/3- at light u will put "hot" wire on black of the 12/3 - at sw/rec make pigtail on black with 2 ends on it, put one on the sw and one on the rec - put white on rec - put red on sw - at light put red on light's black - put white to white
tduncanlu1077 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 10:23 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 7
Default

Gfci


Okay it is getting clearer, sw meaning switch? and rec meaning? thanks
jkanketell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 07:25 AM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 9
Default

Gfci


Rec meaning receptacle

tduncanlu1077 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to tduncanlu1077 For This Useful Post:
jkanketell (11-13-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Freezer tripping GFCI davidclements Appliances 57 08-13-2014 08:14 PM
Replacing kitchen gfci with gfci breakers-something's not right Fpbaum Electrical 14 05-01-2012 08:43 AM
GFCI wiring for a jetted bathtub couchpotato Electrical 13 03-20-2012 11:26 AM
GFCI - White & Black Both HOT? hagler Electrical 11 03-19-2012 08:29 AM
GFCI Question Mdbuilder Electrical 6 06-19-2008 03:15 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.