GFCI 10-pack Something Is Wrong - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-19-2012, 04:20 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles County
Posts: 206
Rewards Points: 154
Default

GFCI 10-pack something is wrong


Before I declare this one a loss I want to get a second or third opinion. At Lowe's/Home Depot GFCI outlets cost $9 and $14 for 15A and 20A (package of 3). On craigslist I see an ad: $5 and $6 for 15A and 20A. It's a small hole-in-the-wall electronics warehouse type of store. OK so I decide to visit the place to buy quantity one 20A and quantity two 15A outlets. The guy says he'll sell me a whole box of the 15A's for $4.50 each. That's 1/2 price Lowes/Home Depot! I fell for it. On the ranch after struggling for some time I realize the outlets don't work. I hook them up just like the diagram says. Take the yellow sticker off. Black wire to brass screw. White wire to silver screw. Ground to green screw. Use probe to check the black wire is live/hot and white/ground complete a circuit. Press reset after connecting the wires several times. Try as I may I can't get the receptacle to work. I figure it might be a bad apple. So I try another then another from the box. Nothing. Then I try the 20A. Works the first time. It would appear that the entire 10-pack of 15A GFCI receptacles that the hole-in-the-wall sold me are bad. Is there anything I could be doing wrong when I install these or is it just a bad batch and I got shafted?

Advertisement

jackwashere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 04:25 PM   #2
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 703
Rewards Points: 504
Default

GFCI 10-pack something is wrong


99% of GFI's i deal with you would have wired backwards, the yellow sticker is usually covering the 'Load' terminals, you want to connect to the 'Line' terminals.

Advertisement

Techy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Techy For This Useful Post:
joecaption (11-19-2012)
Old 11-19-2012, 04:33 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,814
Rewards Points: 744
Default

GFCI 10-pack something is wrong


Why do you need that many.
The in coming power needed to go to the line side, any outlets down stream go on the load side.
You only need to have one GFI to protect all the outlets down line on the same circut.
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 05:01 PM   #4
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,245
Rewards Points: 2,400
Default

GFCI 10-pack something is wrong


If you wired to the terminals under the yellow tape, you connected to the load side. Move them to the line terminals. Most of the bargain GFCIs I see on ebay are older models that do not meet current code.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 06:09 PM   #5
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

GFCI 10-pack something is wrong


The other thing you have to be carefull is you have to know which one is line supply and load supply if you ever get one of them crossed it will not work.

Second thing if you ever have MWBC ( multi wire branch circuit ) you have to be extra carefull with them you can not share the netural on full protection on downstream of GFCI's so therefore you will have to set them up as single point each loaction which it will add more cost otherwise a two pole GFCI breaker will slove the issue.

However with two pole GFCI breaker not all the breaker panels will take them so you have to check the listing to make sure they can take it.

You will need basic tester ( Neon test light will work very well on this one ) turn the circuit off and find which pair of NM or UF cable come in the box you should able indentify it then keep them in pairs if more than one in the junction box and keep the conductor seperated and turn the breaker on and test each one to see which one is line supply and the other is load then turn the breaker off and do the rest of hook up.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 06:14 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles County
Posts: 206
Rewards Points: 154
Default

GFCI 10-pack something is wrong


Quote:
Originally Posted by Techy View Post
99% of GFI's i deal with you would have wired backwards, the yellow sticker is usually covering the 'Load' terminals, you want to connect to the 'Line' terminals.
OK OK I may have gotten the names wrong. But I have to say I don't feel silly because the wording is counter-intuitive in my opinion. Load means something that does the heavy lifting or "carries the load" as they say. Line means secondary or "down the line" as they say or after the fact.

I did some more reading on the internet and it appears you might have figured out my error. Will try to reverse the connections and see if that works.

Thanx.
jackwashere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 06:39 PM   #7
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,965
Rewards Points: 2,326
Default

GFCI 10-pack something is wrong


In electrical every thing that is the line is the point closest to the incoming power.
Load is everything after is point.

Advertisement

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GFCI ground wire MARKEN Electrical 3 10-25-2012 01:42 PM
Landscape wiring question: GFCI and Breaker Amp MikeInDetroit Electrical 0 11-02-2011 10:43 AM
GFCI trips at the same time ATJaguarX Electrical 84 10-22-2011 11:23 PM
Garage GFCI keeps tripping faromic Electrical 7 08-30-2011 11:45 PM
20 amp GFCI breaker pops when pool pump is turned on. jagrunner Electrical 11 03-19-2010 05:31 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts