Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-03-2012, 11:18 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 8
Share |
Default

Gfcb question.


I just ran uf-b direct burial wire to 2 light poles 10 feet from our pool. They worked fine on a regular breaker. It has rained probably 4 inches the past few days. Now I connected it to a 15amp gfcb ,just for extra protection considering it is so close to water, that only has the pool light on it which pulls 50 watts. Gfcb trips instantly when the 2 pole lights are connected. Does not trip when only pool light is connected. It is connected to a aqua logic sub panel with built in relay timers. Is it possible I already have a problem in the wire? I didn't use conduit except coming out if the concrete where the pole lights are mounted and up to the sub panel. I sealed the light poles with silicone but could moisture have gotten inside the pole? Just want to know what's the 1st logical thing to try 1st to trouble shoot this problem.

kyle11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 01:12 AM   #2
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,520
Default

Gfcb question.


Well, you definitely have an actual ground fault. It's a real problem that needs to be solved. I would start by checking all the connection locations for any indication of a ground fault, or a neutral-ground connection. You could connect it to the non-GFCI breaker again temporarily and (carefully) check for voltage on metal parts and use a clamp-on meter to measure current in the grounding conductors. That should help isolate the problem.

__________________
I am a lawyer, but not your lawyer. And who cares anyways? We're here to talk construction. This is DIY advice, not legal advice.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 07:37 AM   #3
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Default

Gfcb question.


Call a pro, once you start with contactors and stuff and mix neutrals or many other common mix ups the gfi's don't work.
__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 10:41 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 8
Default

Gfcb question.


Found the problem. When I wired it to the gfcb I didn't put the 14/2 neutral to the breaker I left it on the neutral bar as it was hooked to a regular breaker before. Wired it to the breaker and worked like a charm. Thanks for your replies.

Last edited by kyle11; 10-04-2012 at 10:43 PM.
kyle11 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to kyle11 For This Useful Post:
mpoulton (10-05-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DRIcore question trailblazer1229 Flooring 0 02-24-2010 09:25 AM
3 Phase meter socket question a320200 Electrical 4 12-11-2009 12:45 AM
An unasked question is the only dumb question jackie treehorn Kitchen & Bath Remodeling 1 09-20-2009 08:24 PM
A question about water preassure. reasonforseason Plumbing 5 04-14-2009 04:36 PM
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 08:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.