Getting New Home Runs Into Attic - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-11-2012, 12:35 PM   #16
Member
 
Thadius856's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Northern California
Posts: 921
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Getting New Home Runs Into Attic


I think I can get by with adding two 1-1/4 emt for six 12-2 and pulling the 7th thru an existing emt that only has two conductors. This would be tons easier for me. But is it legal?

Anybody know if the CEC requires sch 80 PVC, or can I use sch 40? I'd prefer to use LBs and I've never seen them for EMT.

Advertisement

__________________
Check out my on-going Project Thread!
Current Project: Whole House Data Wiring
Back Burner: Drywall Patching
Planning: Kitchen Reno
Thadius856 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 12:38 PM   #17
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,161
Rewards Points: 2,114
Default

Getting New Home Runs Into Attic


Quote:
Originally Posted by Thadius856 View Post
I think I can get by with adding two 1-1/4 emt for six 12-2 and pulling the 7th thru an existing emt that only has two conductors. This would be tons easier for me. But is it legal?

Anybody know if the CEC requires sch 80 PVC, or can I use sch 40? I'd prefer to use LBs and I've never seen them for EMT.
Its usually not legal, but so overlooked in most states, not sure if by choice, lack of code knowledge, or just a 'thats the way we do it' mentality....

The other issue is you cant run NM outdoors in a conduit....

Last edited by stickboy1375; 08-11-2012 at 12:41 PM.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 12:53 PM   #18
Member
 
Thadius856's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Northern California
Posts: 921
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Getting New Home Runs Into Attic


:o

Remind me to never post a picture of my main panel.

I've got AC wiring (NM) in one 3/4 flex tubing, one 14-2 NM in 3/4 flex, my dryer line and a 12-2 in a 1-1/4 EMT... none of the inspectors caught any of it wen I bought the place.
__________________
Check out my on-going Project Thread!
Current Project: Whole House Data Wiring
Back Burner: Drywall Patching
Planning: Kitchen Reno
Thadius856 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 01:26 PM   #19
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,161
Rewards Points: 2,114
Default

Getting New Home Runs Into Attic


Quote:
Originally Posted by Thadius856 View Post
:o

Remind me to never post a picture of my main panel.

I've got AC wiring (NM) in one 3/4 flex tubing, one 14-2 NM in 3/4 flex, my dryer line and a 12-2 in a 1-1/4 EMT... none of the inspectors caught any of it wen I bought the place.
Like a said, its done all the time... doesn't make it any more right, but ignored none the less. It's a west cost thing, on the east cost you mostly find panels in the basement, at least up north...
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 01:38 PM   #20
Member
 
Thadius856's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Northern California
Posts: 921
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Getting New Home Runs Into Attic


No freezing (here), no ice dams, no basements, water heater straps... Finding plenty of differences.
__________________
Check out my on-going Project Thread!
Current Project: Whole House Data Wiring
Back Burner: Drywall Patching
Planning: Kitchen Reno
Thadius856 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 08:20 AM   #21
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Getting New Home Runs Into Attic


Finally got back to this one...

Our state had amended this code rule. That it why it wasn't making sense. It eliminates 312.5 (b) which is probably why it is so difficult to meet all those exceptions.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
stickboy1375 (08-12-2012)
Old 08-12-2012, 08:49 AM   #22
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,992
Rewards Points: 2,782
Default

Getting New Home Runs Into Attic


One problem with runnings the MWBC's is going to be how to AFCI protect the circuits.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 08:52 AM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,398
Rewards Points: 794
Default

Getting New Home Runs Into Attic


And I don't use 3 wire circuits. One code cycle it's approved,then they get into afci's and you are stuck when home owners want them put in later.
bobelectric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 08:58 AM   #24
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Getting New Home Runs Into Attic


There is going to be a change here soon that anytime you replace a receptacle, you will need to have it on an AFCI. Well, what if that recept is part of a MWBC? Being that they do not make an approved AFCI device (receptacle) yet and even if they did, in order to use it, you have to meet certain criteria. I know is some parts of the country they make you install them when upgrading a panel. What do those guys do when there are MWBCs existing?
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 09:07 AM   #25
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,161
Rewards Points: 2,114
Default

Getting New Home Runs Into Attic


Quote:
Originally Posted by bobelectric View Post
And I don't use 3 wire circuits. One code cycle it's approved,then they get into afci's and you are stuck when home owners want them put in later.
They sell two pole afci's... Not a big deal.

Advertisement


Last edited by stickboy1375; 08-12-2012 at 11:12 AM.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Insulate Attic, solar screens, attic fan- biggest bang for buck? heidabear Insulation 6 08-04-2012 12:25 AM
Attic project - Would like opinions whataboutj Insulation 6 06-29-2011 04:07 PM
Attic venting questions lemmy Roofing/Siding 36 05-28-2011 09:14 PM
Ventilating attic with two roofs senorbungle Building & Construction 2 01-09-2011 05:17 PM
Attic fan options P550 Roofing/Siding 1 08-22-2010 01:47 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts