Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-10-2012, 10:17 PM   #1
Member
 
Thadius856's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Northern California
Posts: 921
Share |
Default

Getting New Home Runs Into Attic


Just pulled 7 home runs for kitchen remod. All come across the attic and come out in a 1.5" hole in a rafter blocking. I have about 15' hanging on each 12-2.

The problem is I have farther than 24" to get into the panel, so i dont get the nipple exception to my conduit. Since they're required to be 20A (except the lughing circuit?) i dont have any room for derating.

Is my only choice to run three separate EMT 3/4" and drill new holes in the side of my panel?

Edit: would a junction help me at all?
__________________
Check out my on-going
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
!
Current Project: Whole House Data Wiring
Back Burner: Drywall Patching
Planning: Kitchen Reno

Last edited by Thadius856; 08-10-2012 at 10:22 PM.
Thadius856 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 10:40 PM   #2
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,221
Default

Getting New Home Runs Into Attic


If you are using romex, you can use a romex connector and forgo the conduit.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 10:57 PM   #3
Member
 
Thadius856's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Northern California
Posts: 921
Default

Getting New Home Runs Into Attic


To be clear, this is the main panel on the outside of an exterior wall and I'm trying to get them up fom the panel and into the attic through the rafter blocking.
__________________
Check out my on-going
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
!
Current Project: Whole House Data Wiring
Back Burner: Drywall Patching
Planning: Kitchen Reno
Thadius856 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 11:37 PM   #4
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,245
Default

Getting New Home Runs Into Attic


Quote:
Originally Posted by Thadius856 View Post
To be clear, this is the main panel on the outside of an exterior wall and I'm trying to get them up fom the panel and into the attic through the rafter blocking.

This is what I would do, either open up the sheathing behind the main panel to get the new circuits into the panel with separate NM connectors, OR do a pipeline from the main panel to the attic, with approved jboxes and thhn...
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 12:17 AM   #5
Member
 
Thadius856's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Northern California
Posts: 921
Default

Getting New Home Runs Into Attic


I'll try to get into the wall in the morning. Going to be tough. Will see what I can do.
__________________
Check out my on-going
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
!
Current Project: Whole House Data Wiring
Back Burner: Drywall Patching
Planning: Kitchen Reno
Thadius856 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 04:39 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,166
Default

Getting New Home Runs Into Attic


F'ed up eh? Don't hide mistakes where down the road nobody can find them.
bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 09:11 AM   #7
Member
 
Thadius856's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Northern California
Posts: 921
Default

Getting New Home Runs Into Attic


Not trying to hide anything. If pulling them into the stud bay behind the main panel and bringing tem through the back isn't the right way to do it, please let me know. I definitely want to Do It Right. That's why I'm asking here and not just hacking things in willy nilly.

Is the 3x 3/4 emt route better?

Is 1x 2" sch 40 PVC with jb 20" up better?

Is there a better way I haven't considered?
__________________
Check out my on-going
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
!
Current Project: Whole House Data Wiring
Back Burner: Drywall Patching
Planning: Kitchen Reno
Thadius856 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 09:20 AM   #8
Member
 
Thadius856's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Northern California
Posts: 921
Default

Getting New Home Runs Into Attic


If I went the THHN route, #12 is would be derated to 70% (7-9) for 21A.

Neutrals don't count as current carrying conductors in this case.

I'd need to pull white and green, and one other color that should probably be black or red but doesn't have to be if I remark it.

Is this all correct?

To keep the cursing to a minimum, what size conduit would you recommend I pull these through?
__________________
Check out my on-going
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
!
Current Project: Whole House Data Wiring
Back Burner: Drywall Patching
Planning: Kitchen Reno

Last edited by Thadius856; 08-11-2012 at 09:22 AM.
Thadius856 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 09:26 AM   #9
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,245
Default

Getting New Home Runs Into Attic


Quote:
Originally Posted by Thadius856 View Post
If I went the THHN route, #12 is would be derated to 70% (7-9) for 21A.
You wont have any derating issues until you cross over 9 conductors.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thadius856 View Post
Neutrals don't count as current carrying conductors in this case.
Only if they are multi wire branch circuits.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thadius856 View Post
I'd need to pull white and green, and one other color that should probably be black or red bu doesn't have to be if I remark it.

You need to pull a neutral for every two ungrounded (hot) conductors...


In your example, you have 7 circuits, im just assuming they are all two wire circuits, you would need to run 7 hot conductors and 4 neutral conductors and 1 ground sized to the largest branch circuit you already ran to the kitchen. Only ONE of the neutrals would be considered current carrying. Giving you a total of 8 current carry conductors.


3/4 EMT with 12 #12AWG conductors is only a fill % of 28.96%, so the jam probability is very small... Personally I would pull one spare wire to complete the last multi wire branch circuit, meaning, I would pull 8 hots, 4 neutrals, and 1 ground... you must pair up these wires as to ensure you don't over load any of the neutrals, they must be landed on opposite phases for the neutral current to be cancelled out.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by stickboy1375; 08-11-2012 at 09:39 AM.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 10:10 AM   #10
Member
 
Thadius856's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Northern California
Posts: 921
Default

Getting New Home Runs Into Attic


Awesome! The only nasty part will be making all these connections in an unfinished attic.

I'm with you until the very last part. I want each of the 4 neuts to share one leg from each phase. How can I determine which breaker is on which leg? Silly question, I know...
__________________
Check out my on-going
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
!
Current Project: Whole House Data Wiring
Back Burner: Drywall Patching
Planning: Kitchen Reno
Thadius856 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 10:15 AM   #11
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,221
Default

Getting New Home Runs Into Attic


I wouldn't switch over to THHN. I would install as many sleeves as necessary (4 3/4 PVC). You are just asking for trouble with all those splices.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 10:17 AM   #12
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,245
Default

Getting New Home Runs Into Attic


Quote:
Originally Posted by Thadius856 View Post
Awesome! The only nasty part will be making all these connections in an unfinished attic.

I'm with you until the very last part. I want each of the 4 neuts to share one leg from each phase. How can I determine which breaker is on which leg? Silly question, I know...
Just use two pole breakers and you will be fine. and label your hots so when you are in the attic, you know how to pair them off. (example... label the conductors, 2,4 6,8 10,12 14,16.... this way you know 2 & 4 share a neutral which would also be labeled 2,4... This will ensure that you keep everything in check.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by stickboy1375; 08-11-2012 at 10:21 AM.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 10:23 AM   #13
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,245
Default

Getting New Home Runs Into Attic


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
I wouldn't switch over to THHN. I would install as many sleeves as necessary (4 3/4 PVC). You are just asking for trouble with all those splices.
You cant do that, code wise... And I think the OP will be fine as long as he takes his time and labels all the thhn's....
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 11:23 AM   #14
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,221
Default

Getting New Home Runs Into Attic


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
You cant do that, code wise... And I think the OP will be fine as long as he takes his time and labels all the thhn's....
For my information...why? We don't do alot of meter/main's round here so I'm not up on the ins and outs of it. Its not underground so its not considered a wet location.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 11:29 AM   #15
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,245
Default

Getting New Home Runs Into Attic


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
For my information...why? We don't do alot of meter/main's round here so I'm not up on the ins and outs of it. Its not underground so its not considered a wet location.
Check out 312.5 (C) Cables. It can be legal, but rarely is... you have to meet 7 criteria's

This applies to Cabinets, Cutout boxes, and meter socket Enclosures... Not just meter main cabinets... I see a lot of panels with all the NM's just stuffed into a 2" PVC conduit....
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by stickboy1375; 08-11-2012 at 11:33 AM.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
Thadius856 (08-11-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Insulate Attic, solar screens, attic fan- biggest bang for buck? heidabear Insulation 6 08-03-2012 11:25 PM
Attic project - Would like opinions whataboutj Insulation 6 06-29-2011 03:07 PM
Attic venting questions lemmy Roofing/Siding 36 05-28-2011 08:14 PM
Ventilating attic with two roofs senorbungle Building & Construction 2 01-09-2011 04:17 PM
Attic fan options P550 Roofing/Siding 1 08-22-2010 12:47 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.