Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-31-2013, 08:04 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: MA
Posts: 717
Share |
Default

generator and transfer switch box


Quote:
Originally Posted by french_guy View Post
Since it's "only" 120V, there will only be 1 x neutral, 1 x ground and 1 x hot wire, right?
Correct.

There are workarounds that will let you use it with either a transfer switch or interlock - with limitations! Most are designed for a 240 volt feeder.

AandPDan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 08:09 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Greater Detroit area
Posts: 387
Default

generator and transfer switch box


This is what I just realized....
It would be much simpler to have a generator that delivers 240V (2 x 120V)
Then inside the panel:
Neutral goes to neutral bar
Ground goes to ground bar
And conductors (Red and Black - 2 x 120V) go to the breaker (double pole) newly installed

Am I right?

If yes, i feel I should return my generator and get one that delivers 240V !!!
french_guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 08:13 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: MA
Posts: 717
Default

generator and transfer switch box


Yes, that would be easier.
AandPDan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 08:22 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Greater Detroit area
Posts: 387
Default

generator and transfer switch box


yeah.....I am looking at that model right now:
http://www.homedepot.com/Outdoors-Ou...1#BVRRWidgetID

More power for only $50 more....
This model is rated 5,000 W continuous and 6,250 W peak
And the outlets are as follow:
Two 20 Amp 120-volt 5-20R duplex receptacles, 1 TwistLock 30 Amp 120/240-volt L14-30R outlet and one 12-volt DC outlet
But to connect it to my main panel, I should use the twistlock plug, which is only 30 Amp....So how do I get the 5,000 W continuous?
Is it because the 30 Amps are split between the 2 conductors (30 A on Black and 30 A on Red)?
I am confused now.....
french_guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 08:27 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: MA
Posts: 717
Default

generator and transfer switch box


The 30 amp twistlock plug is all you need.

The outlet can handle 30 amps at 240 volts which is 7200 watts

Your generator can do just about 21 amps at 240 volts (5000 watts) continuous.
AandPDan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 09:10 PM   #21
Field Service
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 147
Default

generator and transfer switch box


Quote:
Originally Posted by french_guy View Post
...So how do I get the 5,000 W continuous?
The equation to answer your question is Watts = Volts * Amps

At a higher voltage less amperage is required for the same wattage.
diystephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 05:48 AM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Greater Detroit area
Posts: 387
Default

generator and transfer switch box


I will go take a look at HD for an interlock kit
But I have a question: The breaker for the generator has to be installed on the top right corner of the breaker section in the panel
But I thought every panel were "divided" in half, with a left side and a right side
Each side being connected with 120V...And I assume loads are balanced between left and right
So if the generator's breaker is installed on the right side, how power will be distributed to the left side...?
Sorry if it sounds like a stupid question.....
french_guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 06:15 AM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Greater Detroit area
Posts: 387
Default

generator and transfer switch box


I think I just found the answer to my question above...
Phases are arranged as follow:
A = 1,2,5,6,9,10, etc
B = 3,4,7,8,11,12, etc

So having the generator breaker on 2 and 4 will power the 2 buses

Am I right?

And last question: what should be the size (how many Amps) for the breaker if I go with the 5,000W (continuous) generator (and 6,250 W peak)?
Should it be 30Amps?
french_guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 08:20 AM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: MA
Posts: 717
Default

generator and transfer switch box


Most all panels are staggered with the phases. It would be:

A-A
B-B
A-A
B-B
A-A
B-B

That way if you put in a double pole breaker you pick up both legs. Like you said.

Check the generator manufacturers specs. Normally, if you have a 30 amp plug you would use a 30 amp breaker. Don't base it on the peak. That's for temporary loads - like starting the refrigerator or some other motor. The circuit breakers can handle that.

Remember, the generator will have it's own circuit protection. You're basically just protecting the wiring. Use #10.

You may have to head to a real electrical supply house for the interlock. Make sure you have all the numbers off of your panel with you.

Good luck.
AandPDan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 08:29 AM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Greater Detroit area
Posts: 387
Default

generator and transfer switch box


Thanks for all your detailed answers...and your patience
When you say #10, you mean the gauge of the cable I guess, from the generator to the panel?
I will try to find an intelrock kit....On my panel, it says "Lock kit: TDL 103"
But I can't find it on the web

Last option: Looking at the kit they sell at $150, it's only 2 plates of steel that slide together......Way too expensive for what it is (it doesn't even include the breaker)
If I can find one for $40/$50, fine.....Otherwise, I am seriously thinking about doing it myself
french_guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 08:36 AM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: MA
Posts: 717
Default

generator and transfer switch box


TDL103 is not the interlock. It's a door lock, and it has been superseded to TDL106 - not what you want.

What others numbers do you have on the panel. Post them up!
AandPDan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 09:01 AM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Greater Detroit area
Posts: 387
Default

generator and transfer switch box


Here you go...
Attached Thumbnails
generator and transfer switch box-ge-panel-1.jpg   generator and transfer switch box-ge-panel-2.jpg  
french_guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 09:28 AM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: MA
Posts: 717
Default

generator and transfer switch box


I don't see anything quick. It's an older panel.
AandPDan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 09:32 AM   #29
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Greater Detroit area
Posts: 387
Default

generator and transfer switch box


Yes, the house is from 1984.....So I guess the panel is the same age
But like I said, if I can't find one, I will probably build one myself out of some steel or aluminum
I don't want to pay $150 for 2 "basic" pieces...it's way overpriced !!!!
french_guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 03:11 PM   #30
Electrical Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 725
Default

generator and transfer switch box


Quote:
Originally Posted by french_guy View Post
Yes, the house is from 1984.....So I guess the panel is the same age
But like I said, if I can't find one, I will probably build one myself out of some steel or aluminum
I don't want to pay $150 for 2 "basic" pieces...it's way overpriced !!!!
I had a Crouse-Hinds panel from 1984, and I was able to find a matching kit. But, like you said, you could make your own and probably save $100 if that were the case.

Kyle_in_rure is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.