Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-25-2012, 07:21 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
Share |
Default

generator transfer switch


i am hooking a 7000wt. portable generator to a 10 circuit transfer switch next to my main panel. my question is how much distance can i have between trans. switch and power inlet box before i start to lose noticeable currant ? i plan on using #10wire. depending on the location i choose the distance could be from 30' to 120' with a 10' cord between gen. and inlet box. Would a heavier gauge wire [ # 8 ] make any difference ?

dhiggins26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2012, 10:29 PM   #2
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

generator transfer switch


You have your answer...at 30' you can use the #10...at 120' you can use the #8. Or you can use the #8 for any distance, but at 120' you would suffer some voltage drop. Nothing too severe for temporary usage.

Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Missouri Bound For This Useful Post:
dhiggins26 (01-26-2012)
Old 01-26-2012, 06:18 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,930
Default

generator transfer switch


This is what I suggest.

Use the 8 gauge wire/cable if the distance from the generator to the furthest eligible receptacle in the house (not the distance from the generator to the transfer switch) is the 120 feet.

Ignore the fact that 12 or 14 gauge wire goes from the panel to the receptacles.

This is an unscientifically derived suggestion. The voltage drop in the generator line depends on the wire size and the amperes delivered at that moment by the generator. The voltage drop in a branch circuit depends on its wires size and the number of amps drawn at that moment in that branch circuit.
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.
AllanJ is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to AllanJ For This Useful Post:
dhiggins26 (01-26-2012)
Old 01-26-2012, 07:23 AM   #4
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,621
Default

generator transfer switch


i did a #6/4wire on a 100' run between them from a 3500W might even consider #4,but definitly not #10
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to biggles For This Useful Post:
dhiggins26 (01-26-2012)
Old 01-26-2012, 05:17 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
Default

generator transfer switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by AllanJ View Post
This is what I suggest.

Use the 8 gauge wire/cable if the distance from the generator to the furthest eligible receptacle in the house (not the distance from the generator to the transfer switch) is the 120 feet.

Ignore the fact that 12 or 14 gauge wire goes from the panel to the receptacles.

This is an unscientifically derived suggestion. The voltage drop in the generator line depends on the wire size and the amperes delivered at that moment by the generator. The voltage drop in a branch circuit depends on its wires size and the number of amps drawn at that moment in that branch circuit.
thank you, much appreciated, DH
dhiggins26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 05:37 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
Default

generator transfer switch


MB are you saying even with #8 wire there will still be a voltage drop? I just want to be clear on this. thank you, DH
dhiggins26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 08:07 PM   #7
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

generator transfer switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by biggles View Post
i did a #6/4wire on a 100' run between them from a 3500W might even consider #4,but definitly not #10
I re-read what I typed and I see how it came out a bit confusing. The voltage drop will be minimal with #8, while at that distance you should NOT use #10. 8 is acceptable, and with #8 you will have 1/2 the voltage drop. Sorry for my unclear statement.
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Missouri Bound For This Useful Post:
dhiggins26 (01-27-2012)
Old 01-27-2012, 08:57 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
Default

generator transfer switch


thank you for your response MB,Greatly appreciated!
dhiggins26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 10:03 AM   #9
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

generator transfer switch


I would use 6 it will not be too much more.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 10:31 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
Default

generator transfer switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston View Post
I would use 6 it will not be too much more.
thanks rrolleston, I appreciate your response.
dhiggins26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 11:20 AM   #11
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

generator transfer switch


Keep in mind you may need to use 6 gauge copper ring terminals with a #10 ring to get all conductors in. I usually solder mine on. Dip wire in flux put connector on crimp it tight heat with torch and add solder.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rrolleston For This Useful Post:
dhiggins26 (01-27-2012)
Old 01-27-2012, 03:43 PM   #12
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

generator transfer switch


I almost forgot about this until I looked at another thread. Install a ground where you plan to use the generator. Some 10 gauge stranded and a pipe ground clamp connected to bare metal on your generator frame and an acorn clamp on the rod could probably do this for under 20 bucks.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 05:39 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
Default

generator transfer switch


thanks again rrolleston,
dave higgins

dhiggins26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in a 4-way Switch RickSene Electrical 5 04-09-2013 07:25 PM
Carrier Infinity 69 Trouble Code 42 bodya1 HVAC 4 12-05-2010 06:43 PM
1 pole + 3 way switch momof2labs Electrical 1 05-22-2010 10:37 AM
3-way light with a twist Jeepsail Electrical 14 05-18-2010 01:24 AM
4 way switch confusion Richo Electrical 10 04-09-2009 07:11 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.