Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-30-2011, 01:08 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 15
Share |
Default

generator transfer switch


I'm installing a generator 6 circut manual transfer switch. Looks like I need to either splice the circuts in the load center (circut breaker box) and bring the wires out to the transfer switch, or I can pull the wires out of the load center and add junction boxes and then route the circuts to the new generator transfer switch.
I have the room in the load center. I'd prefer this method. Is it up to code?

chuck172 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 07:28 AM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 15
Default

generator transfer switch


Any answers? I'd like to get started on this.

chuck172 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 07:39 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,839
Default

generator transfer switch


Doing all the splicing in the load center is topologically equal to using the load center as a pass through. This is not permitted in some local cities' code.

With that many (six) circuits, the load center would be much cleaner if you withdraw the circuit cables in question from the load center and use a separate junction box.
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 09:04 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 15
Default

generator transfer switch


Can I fit all 6 circuit splices in one junction box?
What size box should I get?
chuck172 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 11:39 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,839
Default

generator transfer switch


Get a 59 cubic inch box for 12 gauge wiring (52 ci for all 14 gauge).

Be sure there are enough holes for the various cables going in. Usually one hole (with appropriate clamp) can admit two Romex cables.

Connect each circuit neutral only to the neutral that accompanies the corresponding hot wire going to a switch.

Connect all ground wires together in the junction box. You can group the ground wires into bundles with jumper wires (pigtails) connecting the bundles.
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 12:15 PM   #6
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,756
Default

generator transfer switch


Provided there is adequate space, splicing in the load center is acceptable in most cases. Generac transfer switches are manufactured that way.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 01:39 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 15
Default

generator transfer switch


Can two romex 12/3 wires go through the same knockout and both share the same clamp?
chuck172 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 01:48 PM   #8
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,756
Default

generator transfer switch


If the clamp is listed for two cables, yes. If you are considering shared neutrals make sure the tranfer switch is compatible for that configuration.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 03:34 PM   #9
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,328
Default

generator transfer switch


Typically the NM clamps are for 2 flat cables like 14-2, but only one 3 wire like 14-3. Check the packaging.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in a 4-way Switch RickSene Electrical 5 04-09-2013 07:25 PM
Carrier Infinity 69 Trouble Code 42 bodya1 HVAC 4 12-05-2010 06:43 PM
1 pole + 3 way switch momof2labs Electrical 1 05-22-2010 10:37 AM
3-way light with a twist Jeepsail Electrical 14 05-18-2010 01:24 AM
4 way switch confusion Richo Electrical 10 04-09-2009 07:11 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.