Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-18-2012, 06:26 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Generator to transfe switch wire gauge


So I'm runnin the wire from my out side hook up to the transfer switch. This is a 5500 watt 30 amp generator. The wire is going to be 25 feet long. What gauge do I need. I've seen some tables where it looks like I need 4 gauge but others say I need 10. Which is right? Or are both wrong?

Kirk5291 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2012, 07:02 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,946
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Generator to transfe switch wire gauge


You can use #10 gauge provided there is a 30 amp breaker permanently in the line, for example a small panel before the outdoor hookup (inlet; male receptacle).

You may choose to use heavier wire and matching hookup (#8 for 40 amps, or whatever) to plan for the future in case you decide to get a larger generator.

__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.

Last edited by AllanJ; 07-18-2012 at 07:14 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2012, 07:13 AM   #3
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Generator to transfe switch wire gauge


10 is all you need but if you ever plan on maybe going bigger you may want to run 6's. That next twistlock size up is 50a for a genny.
__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2012, 11:31 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Generator to transfe switch wire gauge


Thanks .. Guess I'll run 6 just cause I want to only do this once
Kirk5291 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gauge transfer switch


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
240v conduit with different gauge wires... Biospot Electrical 7 12-14-2010 07:07 PM
Carrier Infinity 69 Trouble Code 42 bodya1 HVAC 4 12-05-2010 06:43 PM
4 way switch confusion Richo Electrical 10 04-09-2009 07:11 AM
Wire Multiple Lights controlled by 4-way Switch? mfleming Electrical 17 11-20-2008 08:46 AM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 09:41 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.