Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-25-2013, 04:19 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 16
Share |
Default

Generator Sub Panel is this wiring correct?


Hey All...

I got around today to hooking up the wiring for my GenTran transfer switch.

I only hooked up one circuit, and took some pictures to see if I was on the right track.

Let me know how it looks.

One thing I had a question with... Why on the main panel are the grounds and neutrals on the same bars?

Thanks, this site has been A++ so far!
Attached Thumbnails
Generator Sub Panel is this wiring correct?-photo-4-.jpg   Generator Sub Panel is this wiring correct?-photo-3-.jpg   Generator Sub Panel is this wiring correct?-photo-2-.jpg   Generator Sub Panel is this wiring correct?-photo-1-.jpg   Generator Sub Panel is this wiring correct?-photo.jpg  


Last edited by Durkis007; 01-25-2013 at 04:28 PM.
Durkis007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 04:57 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Generator Sub Panel is this wiring correct?


Trying to figure out what is going on here. Does this feed back into your main panel or are you feeding the transfer switch with the main panel and moving the circuits to the gen tran panel?
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 05:06 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 16
Default

Generator Sub Panel is this wiring correct?


Sorry.. Should have been a bit clearer with my description.

The GenTran transfer switch is on the right in the photo, and the main panel is on the left. There is no extra sub panel. Just the main and transfer switch.

Hope that helps

Here is a link for the gentran 300660 install manual...

http://www.gen-tran.com/assets/pdfs/50050I.pdf
Durkis007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 05:13 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 16
Default

Generator Sub Panel is this wiring correct?


The wiring that I added..

1)Blue wire from the CB on the switch to the black lead in the main panel.
2)Green wire, from the ground bar on the switch to the ground / neutral bar on the main panel.
3)White wire from the neutral bar on the switch to the ground neutral on the main panel.
4)Two Black hot wires from the 60amp breaker in the main to the 60amp breaker on the switch.
Durkis007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 05:49 PM   #5
Lic Elect/Inspector/CPO
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 369
Default

Generator Sub Panel is this wiring correct?


From the pictures it looks good.
NJMarine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 06:03 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Generator Sub Panel is this wiring correct?


Is that green bonding screw screwed into the transfer panel?
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 07:03 PM   #7
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

Generator Sub Panel is this wiring correct?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Durkis007 View Post
...

One thing I had a question with... Why on the main panel are the grounds and neutrals on the same bars?

!
The are on the same buss in the main, but seperated in sub-panels. And they aren't an issue with your transfer panel.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 09:48 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 16
Default

Generator Sub Panel is this wiring correct?


Rolleston, yes the green bonding screw is in on the transfer panel. Is that a problem?

I do remember reading a post on here a bit ago, since I have the metal conduit between the two panels, if that would be a problem or not ?
Durkis007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 02:14 AM   #9
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Generator Sub Panel is this wiring correct?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Durkis007
Rolleston, yes the green bonding screw is in on the transfer panel. Is that a problem?

I do remember reading a post on here a bit ago, since I have the metal conduit between the two panels, if that would be a problem or not ?
No problem it's needed to bond the ground to the panel.

Sent from my iPhone using DIY Forum
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is it normal to have the furnace control panel wiring, not match the wiring diagram cjbeck71081 HVAC 6 07-18-2012 11:19 AM
new sub panel BlueBSH Electrical 11 01-22-2012 08:28 AM
Wiring a sub panel ZBat910 Electrical 6 01-08-2012 02:00 PM
Sub panel wiring and voltage drop questions CPF Electrical 6 11-30-2011 07:52 AM
wiring an electric sub panel located 130 ft from main panel jaramillo Electrical 4 06-04-2011 07:46 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.