Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-07-2008, 06:29 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Generator Safety Switch Help - Breaker Size?


What a great site, and want to thank everyone in advance for taking time to answer my question (s). I'm sure not a professional, as you will see in my question (s). Years ago, I built a home for myself, and now building one for my mother, who due to her health needs to be on a one floor plan. For the most part I've done all the work myself, by researching the net or reading books, I just can't find an answer to this question.

Installing a generator transfer switch, tied into a Square D QO box. I've used 12 gauge wire and 20 amp breakers to wire the whole house. The transfer switch reset buttons, singles show 15 amp on them, and the double show 20 amp. Would this require 15 amp and 20 amp breakers respectively to match the resets?

And if you don't mind one other quick question? Installing AC smoke/carbon monoxide alarms with battery backup, to be interconected. I know you CAN use 14-3, but can I use 12/3, seeing I already have some left over?

Again thanks in advance for any advice given. Regards.....Limey

limey_swindon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2008, 07:25 PM   #2
Union Electrician
 
goose134's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 615
Default

Generator Safety Switch Help - Breaker Size?


Need more info for the generator question. Maybe a link to manufacturer or a schematic? The smoke/CO interface may be wired with 12/3 or 14/3.

goose134 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2008, 07:41 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2
Default

Generator Safety Switch Help - Breaker Size?


Hi, it's a generac, gasoline, 7500 watt generator. The 4 prong extention cord will come off the generator and plug into the outlet box located on the outside of the house (pb30), which in turn will plug into the front of the generac 10 circuit safety switch, which in turn wires into the appropriate circuits in the main breaker box. the switch itself had 6, 15 amp circuits and 2, 20 amp double circuits (which can be seperated to make into 4 individual circuits). my question is, do the 15 amp circuits in the safety switch have to match up with 15 amp circuits in the main breaker box? all the wiring going into the main breaker box is 12 gauge or heavier. hope this helps you answer my question. regards...limey
limey_swindon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2008, 11:40 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

Generator Safety Switch Help - Breaker Size?


No, they don't have to match up. You will just have 15 amp protection on a 20 amp circuit. The wire can be larger than needed, but not smaller. How are the connections made in the main panel? Where the transfer switch wires connect to the building wires?
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring a compressor scrapin Electrical 25 03-18-2012 11:35 PM
Wire size and Breaker size for remodel ?? Skydmark1 Electrical 12 12-15-2007 05:00 PM
Basic Switch wiring question; Dimmer to Toggle switch (Pictures included) inspectator Electrical 8 08-07-2007 01:19 AM
Light Switch Keeps Tripping Breaker jackiesmom Electrical 23 05-24-2007 02:27 PM
neew light switch... on is ok(ish), off flips breaker Nat0570 Electrical 10 05-05-2007 05:02 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.